Kutztown University

Research Commons at Kutztown University

Senate Minutes

Kutztown University Senate

Spring 2-4-1971

Senate Minutes 2-4-71

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

Recommended Citation

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania, "Senate Minutes 2-4-71" (1971). *Senate Minutes*. 13. https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes/13

This Archives Document is brought to you for free and open access by the Kutztown University Senate at Research Commons at Kutztown University. It has been accepted for inclusion in Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Research Commons at Kutztown University. For more information, please contact czerny@kutztown.edu,.

Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting February 4, 1971

The Faculty Senate met in regular session Thursday, February 4, 1971 in Room 3 of the Rohrbach Library at 4:00 p.m.

Present were: Prof. Gino Calcagni, Dr. William Collier, Dr. Francis Curry, Dr. Dodson Dreisbach, Prof. Henriette Engelson, Dr. Raymond Ford, Dr. William Green, Dr. Bennett Harris, Dr. Lorraine Harvilla, Prof. James Kelly, Prof. Sara Mack, Dr. Wilber Mathias, Prof. Earl Mayberry, Prof. Edith Mellner, Dr. Thomas Sexton, Prof. Lynn Sprankle, Dr. Walter Warzeski, Prof. Jason White. Student observer from SGB - Miss Robin Anlian, and Dr. Margaret R. Elo was also present.

Dr. Collier called the meeting to order, and asked for approval of the minutes of January 7, 1971.

A. Old Business

Prof. Henriette Engelson moved the approval of the minutes of the meeting of January 7, 1971. Prof. Calcagni seconded. The motion carried.

Dr. Walter Warzeski presented the proposals from the Faculty Senate Constitutional Revision Committee. The following proposal on standing committees was adopted following motion by Prof. Jason White and second by Dr. Curry. The vote was 17 for the proposal and 1 opposed.

Proposal I STANDING COMMITTEES

1. To help deal with matters that come before the Faculty Senate, the following standing committees shall be created:

Committee on Student Affairs Committee on Academic Affairs Committee on Faculty Affairs Committee on Curriculum Affairs

- 2. To create the four committees, the President of the Faculty Senate shall have each senator indicate the committee on which he prefers to serve and then have the Executive Committee appoint senators to committees in accord with their preferences.
 - 3. Each committee shall elect its own chairman.
- 4. Meetings of the standing committees shall be open to all senators by virtue of their office and to other persons by invitation of the committee chairman.

Dr. Harris moved and Dr. Green seconded that the proposal be amended by changing the word "President" in item #2 to "Chairman".

Proposal II FACULTY SENATE MEMBERSHIP

1. Member Ex Officio

The Dean (or Vice-President) of Academic Affairs shall be a member ex officio and shall enjoy all the rights and privileges of a senator.

2. Members Elected By Departments

- A. Senators shall be elected by the following major units of the college:
 - (a) Departments (academic and personnel)

 [The President of the College shall submit a list
 of persons in Personnel Services to the Faculty
 Senate and the Faculty Senate shall then constitute
 this group as a department to elect one (1) Senate
 member.]
 - (b) Academic Department Heads
 - (c) Academic Administrators

[Defined as administrative personnel teaching six (6) hours or less per regular semester.]

B. Each department shall be entitled to elect one senator provided that the department comprises at least five (5) members. Hew departments that do not meet this minimum shall vote with their former department.

[Defined to include (1) all academic departments, (2) the personnel department to be constituted by the Faculty Senate, (3) the unit of academic department heads, and (4) the unit of academic administrators.]

3. Members Elected At Large

- A. A number of senators not to exceed one-third (1/3) of the total membership elected by the three major units shall be elected at large.
- B. Procedures for nomination and election of members at large shall be bound by the following regulations:
- (a) Nominations shall take place after the election of members by the three major units of the college.
- (b) Each department may nominate two candidates -- one from within, one from without.
- (c) Nominees for the ballot at large may include tenured faculty, department heads, and academic administrators.
- (d) The Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate shall receive all such nominations, shall prepare a ballot of all nominees, and shall put the ballot to the vote among all the college faculty.
- (e) Senators elected at large shall be subject to the same rules governing terms in office and shall enjoy the same rights and privileges as senators elected by the three major units of the college.
- C. For the first election of senators, the three (3) nominees receiving the highest number of votes will serve two-year terms and the next three (3) nominees receiving the highest number of votes shall serve one-year terms.

Following much discussion Prof. Mack moved that the Senate approve the new proposal on Faculty Senate Membership. Dr. Ford seconded. It was carried with the vote 17 for and 1 against.

Dr. Harris moved that the original committee be charged with writing the implementation standards for the new articles to be included in the Constitution. Dr. Collier seconded. The motion carried.

New Business

Dr. Harris read a letter which had been written by Dr. Gutekunst describing the confusion between the requirements for the area of concentration for an English major as defined in the college catalog and the program as it was forwarded to Harrisburg prior to the December 14 and 15th evaluation. He submitted a revised program in English under Secondary Education (Appendix A) and referred to a memo from Dr. Henry Ryan in an attempt to clarify the confusion. After some discussion during which time the new Communication Arts Program was mentioned. It was decided upon motion of Dean Dreisbach that action on the proposal be tabled for a month to allow time for a written report of the evaluation to be submitted from the evaluating Committee. Dean Harris seconded the motion. It was carried.

Dr. Mathias moved that the following deadlines pertain for the election of Senators in 1971:

April 15: Academic Departments should have elected their representatives.

April 22: The names of the newly elected Senators and nominees for Senators at large, should be in the hands of the Secretary of Senate.

May 6: Election of At-Large members should be completed.

Prof. Sprankle seconded. It was carried.

Dean Dreisbach presented a proposal to change the requirement for students in Liberal Arts & Sciences from a quality point average of 2.25 in the major field to a 2.00 over-all graduation requirement. This proposal brings the requirement for students in the Liberal Arts & Sciences in line with the graduation requirement existing in all other curriculums. Dr. Harvilla moved acceptance of the proposal to become effective immediately. Prof. Mellner seconded. It was carried.

Dr. Green moved adjournment. Dr. Ford seconded the motion.

The Senate was adjourned at 5:25 p.m.

Dr. William Collier, Chairman

Prof. Sara R. Mack, Secretary