Kutztown University Research Commons at Kutztown University

Senate Minutes

Kutztown University Senate

Spring 5-3-1990

Senate Minutes 5-3-90

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

Recommended Citation

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania, "Senate Minutes 5-3-90" (1990). *Senate Minutes*. 176. https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes/176

This Archives Document is brought to you for free and open access by the Kutztown University Senate at Research Commons at Kutztown University. It has been accepted for inclusion in Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Research Commons at Kutztown University. For more information, please contact czerny@kutztown.edu,.

Kutztown University Kutztown, Pennsylvania

MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE May 3, 1990

I. Call to Order

J. Schellenberg called the meeting to order at 4:05 P.M. in room 210 de Francesco.

Present were: Margaret M. Apostolos, Rob Astle, William E. Bateman, Gary B. Brey, Mary F. Burkett, James G. Chaney, Mark K. Dinger, Edward W. Evans, Barry J. Fetterman, Linda K. Goldberg, David R. Peterson (for Robert A. Gray), James M. Hvidding, Paul C. Laincz, E. Annette Mazzaferri, Michael F. Piovane, Marc W. Renzema, Thomas F. Schantz, John P. Schellenberg, David L. Valuska, Robert J. Wittman.

Absent were: Edward J. Earley, Jr., Adam Godoy, H. Albert Margolis, Eileen L. Shultz, Roger S. Whitcomb.

Others in attendance were: Kathy M. Lynch; John McKeown; Richard H. Rugen, Assistant to the President for Institutional Research and Strategic Planning; and Basil Y. Scott, Vice President for Administration and Finance.

II. Approval of the Agenda

M. Apostolos moved, M. Piovane seconded, to approve the agenda. The motion passed.

III. Announcements

J. Schellenberg announced that the Administrative Council passed a new Sexual Harassment Policy. A copy of the new policy will be forthcoming in the mail and will become an Agenda item for a future meeting.

J. Schellenberg also announced that the Administrative Council also passed new policies regarding the use of Kutztown University facilities for public demonstrations by outside organizations. This has not been asked to be considered by the Senate, but if any Senator would like to see the recommendations, a copy can be secured from Basil Scott.

D. Valuska informed members that there was a special meeting of the Administrative Council on April 27 regarding the

recommendations of the Athletic Task Force. Copies of subcommittee reports were handed out for reference at a future meeting.

J. Schellenberg discussed future meeting times for the University Senate. Members determined that the next Senate meeting will be held on May 8 at 4:00 P.M. with subsequent meetings on May 17 at 4:00 P.M., May 24 at 9:00 A.M., and May 31 at 9:00 A.M.

- IV. M. Apostolos moved, L. Goldberg seconded, the approval of the minutes of April 17 and April 24, 1990. The motion passed.
- V. Committee Reports
 - A. Strategic Planning Committee Missions, Goals, Strategic Initiatives
 - B. Scott answered questions regarding the Strategic Planning Committee's Missions, Goals, and Strategic Initiatives, the drafts of which had been previously distributed to Senate members.
 - 2. D. Valuska moved, L. Goldberg seconded, endorsement of the document. The motion passed.
 - B. Committee on Committees

W. Bateman asked for a clarification on the appointment powers of the Committee on Committees. M. Renzema moved, J. Hvidding seconded, to give authority to the Committee on Committees to make appointments to committees on a one-time basis without Senate consent. The motion passed.

1. Strategic Planning Committee

W. Bateman moved, A. Mazzaferri seconded, the reconsideration of the structure of the Strategic Planning Committee. The motion passed.

W. Bateman moved, M. Renzema seconded, to approve a revised Strategic Planning Committee structure whereby changing the composition of the Committee from 3 APSCUF representatives and 1 AFSCME representative to 3 at-large faculty members and 1 APSCUF representative. The motion passed.

2. Professional Development Committee

W. Bateman moved, M. Apostolos seconded, to approve the recommendations for the Professional Development Committee. The motion passed.

3. Research Committee

W. Bateman moved, P. Laincz seconded, the adoption of the two proposals for the structuring of the Research Committee. (Proposal #1 - Professional Development Committee and Research Committee report directly to the Senate. Proposal #2 - reducing the number of members of the Committee from 14 to 8)

R. Wittman moved, D. Valuska seconded, the separation of the two motions. The motion passed.

The motion to accept Proposal #1, whereby the Professional Development Committee and the Research Committee report directly to the Senate, passed.

The motion to accept Proposal #2, whereby reducing the number of members from 14 to 8, passed.

4. Student Affairs Committee

W. Bateman moved, M. Apostolos seconded, the approval of the recommendations for the Student Affairs Committee. Discussion followed as to whether this committee may overlap an existing committee. P. Laincz moved, G. Brey seconded, to table the motion for clarification. The motion failed.

R. Astle moved, P. Laincz seconded, that the proposal be sent back to the Committee on Committees for reconsideration. The motion passed.

5. Academic Standards and Policy Committee, Admissions Exceptions Committee, Graduate Exceptions Committee, and Undergraduate Exceptions Committee

W. Bateman moved, M. Renzema seconded, the acceptance of the Academic Standards and Policy Committee, the Admissions Exceptions Committee, the Graduate Exceptions Committee, and the Undergraduate Exceptions Committee, as a package. W. Bateman explained that the three Exceptions Committees would handle all appeals and the broad standards and policies of the University would be handled by the Academic Standards and Policy Committee.

R. Astle moved, T. Schantz seconded, to amend the composition of the Academic Standards and Policy Committee to add one student to be selected by the Student Government Board. The motion passed.

R. Wittman moved, D. Valuska seconded, to amend the composition of the Undergraduate Exceptions Committee

to include a faculty member from each of the undergraduate colleges instead of 4 faculty members at-large. The motion passed.

G. Brey moved, M. Renzema seconded, to change the composition of the Graduate Exceptions Committee from 4 faculty members selected at-large to 4 faculty members selected at-large from the graduate faculty. The motion passed.

T. Schantz moved, M. Burkett seconded, to change the composition of the Graduate Exceptions Committee to 4 faculty members, one from each undergraduate college, and 1 faculty member from the Department of Counseling and Human Services, who are members of the graduate faculty. The motion passed.

R. Astle moved, D. Peterson seconded, to amend the Undergraduate Exceptions Committee to include one student selected by the Student Government Board and to add one graduate student to the Graduate Exceptions Committee. The motion passed.

The motion to approve the package as amended passed.

VI. Adjournment

J. Schellenberg announced that the next meeting of the University Senate will be Tuesday, May 8, 1990 at 4:00 P.M.

R. Wittman moved, G. Brey seconded, to recess the meeting until May 8. The meeting was recessed at 6:05 P.M.