Kutztown University Research Commons at Kutztown University

Senate Minutes

Kutztown University Senate

Fall 9-1-1983

Senate Minutes 9-1-83

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

Recommended Citation

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania, "Senate Minutes 9-1-83" (1983). *Senate Minutes*. 204. https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes/204

This Archives Document is brought to you for free and open access by the Kutztown University Senate at Research Commons at Kutztown University. It has been accepted for inclusion in Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Research Commons at Kutztown University. For more information, please contact czerny@kutztown.edu,.

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania KUTZTOWN UNIVERSITY KUTZTOWN, PENNSYLVANIA

MINUTES OF THE FACULTY SENATE September 1, 1983

Chairperson Marsh called the meeting to order at 4:02 p.m. Present were: C. Arnold, R. Bazylak, W. Bleckman, D. Bonser, P. Briere, F. Dreisbach, E. Earley, P. Garrett, C. Gearhart, J.C. Gerhard, A. Gundry, V. Gupta, C. Hamel, G. Innocenti, M. Kern, D. Kintsfather for D. Dahlman, L. Ladd-Kidder, R. Lucas, P. Malpas, W. Marsh, C. McFadden, A. McKinley, B. Reisner, J. Richards, G. Schaeffer, J. Schellenberg, S. Schneider, T. Sexton, M. St. John, S. Tibbits, R. Weiss, and R. Wittman.

Excused: A.L. Friedman

I. G. Schaeffer moved, seconded by R. Wittman, to accept the agenda as distributed. Motion passed.

II. There were no announcements.

- III. G. Schaeffer moved to approve the Faculty Senate Minutes of May 5, 1983. Motion passed.
- IV. Elections for Faculty Senate officers. P. Garrett presented a proposed slate of nominees.
 - G. Schaeffer moved, seconded by D. Bonser, that nominations for chairpersons be closed; motion approved.
 - 2. P. Garrett moved, R. Bazylak seconded, that nominations for vice chairperson be closed; motion passed.
 - Upon motion by V. Gupta, seconded by P. Malpas, nominations for secretary were closed; motion approved.

Results of the balloting for officers are: Chairperson - William H. Marsh Vice chairperson - Allida S. McKinley Secretary - Frances T. Dreisbach

- V. Announcements and elections of Senate Representation on campus committees.
- The following persons were appointed to serve on the Student/Faculty Committee on Student Affairs for one year terms:
 P. Briere, M. Kern, B. Reisner, and M. St. John.
 - 2. W. Marsh as Faculty Senate chairperson will serve on the de Francesco Memorial Fund Committee.
 - 3. C. Trafford and S. Schneider will serve on the Campus Traffic Bureau Committee.
 - 4. A. Gundry and E. Earley will serve on Student/Faculty Judiciary Committee.
- VI. Members completed preference listings for the four Senate Committees; the membership listings will be distributed at the October meeting.
- VII. Informally a preference was indicated that Senate meetings continue to be held in Library Science Reading Room for the time being.
- VIII. R. Wittman offered to distribute data on the numbers of persons and grades achieved by those who elected to take 9 s.c.h. per session in the summer. As the issue of 9 s.c.h. was discussed at length in the Senate, last semester, there was agreement that such data should be circulated to Senators.

F. Dreisbach moved, S. Tibbits seconded, that the meeting be adjourned. Motion approved. Meeting was adjourned at 4:36 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

n H. Marsh

William H. Marsh Chairperson

- Dreislock

Frances T. Dreisbach Secretary

KUTZTOWN UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA Kutztown, Pennsylvania

Minutes of the Faculty Senate October 6, 1983

Chairperson W. Marsh called the meeting to order at 4:02 p.m. Present were: C. Arnold, R. Bazylak, W. Bleckman, D. Bonser, P. Briere, R. Brumbaugh, A. Cortez-Whang, F. Dreisbach, E. Earley, L. Friedman, P. Garrett, C. Gearhart, C. Gerhard, A. Gundry, V. Gupta, C. Hamel, G. Innocenti, H. Jones, D. Kintsfather, L. Ladd-Kidder, G. Layser, P. Malpas, A. Margolis, W. Marsh, C. McFadden, N. Middleswarth, P. Ori, B. Reisner, G. Schaeffer, J. Schellenberg, S. Schneider, T. Sexton, S. Tibbits, R. Weiss, S. Westmoreland, C. Yarrison.

Others in attendance were: G. Sahatjian - Student Government Representative; R. Buckalew for R. Grabowski, P. Waggoner for A. McKinley and W. Warzeski for R. Wittman.

I. Announcements

Chairperson Marsh announced the following Fall semester changes due to class changes - of Senators: D. Kintsfather for D. Dahlman - Telecommunications S. Westmoreland for E. Reeves - Anthropology/Sociology N. Middleswarth for J. Richards - At-large G. Layser for J. Hershberger - Counselor Education

P. Garrett moved, seconded by S. Tibbits, to accept the agenda as presented. Motion passed.

II. Minutes

T. Sexton moved the approval of the minutes for September 1, 1983. Motion seconded by H. Jones and approved.

III. J. Schellenberg moved, seconded by B. Reisner, that Senate business be suspended for five minutes to elect Faculty Senate Committee chairpersons. Motion approved.

The following chairpersons were selected: Academic Affairs - C. Hamel Curriculum Affairs - E. Earley Faculty Affairs - R. Lucas Student Affairs - B. Reisner

IV. Senate Procedure

Chairperson Marsh introduced the topic of "calling the question" or "moving the previous question." It was agreed that repetitiously calling the questions slows the Senate activity. Also agreed that this motion will only be used to discover the readiness of the Senate to proceed to a vote when debate has been extensive.

V. New Business

As there was no Senate Curriculum Committee meeting to date, the Curriculum Committee of Faculty Senate will present courses for approval at the November meeting.

S. Tibbits moved, seconded by V. Gupta, to adjourn. Motion passed. Faculty Senate adjourned at 4:22 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Marsh

Chairperson

bach

Frances T. Dreisbach Secretary

jls 10-12-83