Kutztown University

Research Commons at Kutztown University

Senate Minutes

Kutztown University Senate

Fall 9-9-1971

Senate Minutes 9-9-71

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting September 9, 1971

The Faculty Senate met in regular session Thursday, September 9, 1971 in the Library Science Reading Room, Rohrbach Library at 4:00 p.m.

Present were: Mrs. Helen Berg, Prof. Walter Bleckmann, Dr. William Collier, Dr. Kenneth Cook, Prof. Francis Curry, Vice President Dodson Dreisbach, Prof. Henriette Engelson, Dr. Edward Evans, Prof. Earnest Foust, Dean Josef Gutekunst, Dean Bennett Harris, Dr. Lorraine Harvilla, Prof. Daniel Hinkel, Prof. Paul Kendall, Prof. Sara Mack, Dr. Anthony Mazzaferri, Prof. Mary Mobley, Dr. George Monroe, Dr. Arnold Newman, Prof. Samuel Ottinger, Prof. Joseph Patton (representing Prof. Gino Calcagni), Dr. Earl Reeves, Prof. Dennis Roth, Dr. Thomas Sexton, Prof. Edwin Schatkowski, Prof. Betty Snyder, Dr. Walter Warzeski, Dr. Glenn Webb, Prof. Esther Willits, and representing S. G. B. Robin Anlian.

Dr. Collier called the meeting to order.

A. Old Business

Dr. Lorraine Harvilla moved that the minutes of the Special Faculty Meeting on May 27, 1971 be approved. It was seconded by Prof. Curry and carried.

Action on two items of old business held over from May, was deferred until the October meeting to give the respective committees time to complete reports. These items are; Student Bill of Rights and Suggested Procedures for Granting Sabbatical Leaves.

B. New Business

The first item of new business was the introduction of the senators since it was the first meeting of the new year.

Because only four eligible nominees resulted from the nominations conducted through the mails for the three vacancies on the Student Faculty Judiciary, . it was decided that senators in session make new nominations. Prof. Paul Kendall and Dr. Arnold Newman were designated tellers. Eighteen persons were named as a result of these written nominations. A run-off election immediately following resulted in the election of Prof. Tom Wolfe, Prof. Deane Lenhart, and Dr. Constance Dent. These persons were declared the new members of the Student Faculty Judiciary.

The Chairman than called for nominations for a new chairman to serve for the 1971-72 term. Dr. Walter Warzeski was nominated by Thomas Sexton and seconded by Dr. Lorraine Harvilla. Prof. Curry moved that the nominations for chairman be closed. It was seconded by Prof. Engelson and carried. There being only one candidate for the office, the secretary was instructed to cast the ballot, and Dr. Warzeski was declared elected.

Dr. George Monroe was nominated for Vice-Chairman by Dr. Lorraine Harvilla. It was seconded by Prof. Samuel Ottinger. Dr. Edward Evans moved that the nominations be closed. It was seconded by Prof. Bleckmann and carried. Again, there was only one nominee, so the secretary was asked to cast the ballot, and Dr. Monroe was declared elected.

For secretary Dr. Evans nominated Dr. Glenn Webb, it was seconded by Dr. Anthony Mazzaferri. Prof. Mack moved that the nominations be closed. It was seconded by Prof. Edwin Schatkowski and carried. Again the secretary cast the ballot and declared Dr. Webb officially elected secretary. The chairman explained that President Stratton is giving high priority to the hiring of a professional secretary to serve the Senate.

The question "Should the Faculty Senate sponsor a meeting with competing or contending organizations such as APSCUF/PAHE, AAUP, AFT or no representation?" was discussed. Upon motion by Dr. Sexton and second by Dr. Harvilla, it was decided that the Faculty Senate should sponsor such a meeting with the stipulation that it is to be a public meeting at which time representatives could address the faculty to solicit support for their organizations as collective bargaining agents in the election of October 6, 1971. The motion was carried with one abstention. (Dean Harris).

In order to facilitate the work of the Senate, it was suggested that the new executive board assign the new senators to Standing Senate Committees following their indication of preference prior to the October meeting.

Upon motion of Prof. Kendall, and second by Prof. Patton, the first Thursday of all full months when school is in session was designated as the regular meeting time.

The meeting was turned over to the new chairman, Dr. Warzeski, who spoke a few words and moved adjournment. It was seconded by Prof. Schatkowski and carried. The meeting was adjourned at 5:45 p.m.

Dr. William Collier, Chairman

William Collins

Prof. Sara R. Mack, Secretary