Kutztown University

Research Commons at Kutztown University

Senate Minutes

Kutztown University Senate

Fall 9-10-1981

Senate Minutes 9-10-81

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania KUTZTOWN STATE COLLEGE KUTZTOWN, PENNSYLVANIA

Minutes of the Faculty Senate September 10, 1981

Edward Evans, Chairperson, called the meeting to order at 4:03 p.m. Members present were Robert Wittman, Evan Kern, James Johnson, Mary Burkett, Robert Weiss, Edward Earley, Robert Spang, Gerald Schaeffer, Samuel Keiser, Walter Bleckmann, Charlotte Craig, Paul Kendall, Allida McKinley, Sara Mack, Linda Halma, Anthony Matz, Philip Malpas, Madan Varma, Robert Voytas, Richard Grabowski, Steve Tibbits, Darrell Dahlman, Robert Briody, James Collier, Earnest Foust, Annette Mazzaferri, Ann Gundry, Thomas Schantz, and Laree Trollinger.

Also present were Edith Mellner for Patricia Ori, Christine Lemieux for Theodore Jentsch, Gene Layser for Thomas Seay, and Robert Reinecke for Roberta Crisson. In addition, Henry Ryan and Dennis Dietrich attended.

A. Mazzaferri moved and R. Grabowski seconded approval of the agenda. The motion passed.

1. Announcements

Chairperson Evans announced that replacements for elected senators absent this year will have to be made.

- 2. R. Wittman moved and C. Craig seconded approval of the minutes of the May 7, 1981, meeting. A. McKinley pointed out that the suggested meeting place was Rohrbach Library Auditorium. The minutes were approved as revised.
- 3. Report of the Nominating Committee
 - P. Kendall reported the following persons had agreed to have their names placed in nomination for Senate offices, 1981-82:

Chairperson:

R. Crisson

E. Foust

J. Johnson

Vice-Chairperson:

C. Craig

S. Tibbits

Secretary:

L. Trollinger

P. Kendall moved and E. Earley seconded that these names be placed in nomination. The chairperson asked for any additional nominations from the floor. R. Grabowski moved and R. Wittman seconded that nominations be closed. The motion passed.

The chairperson requested that the nominations committee serve as the elections committee to tally the ballots.

P. Kendall reported the results of the elections as follows: E. Foust, Chairperson; C. Craig, Vice-Chairperson; L. Trollinger, Secretary.

- 4. Former Chairperson Evans, continuing to preside with the consent of newly-elected Chairperson Foust, distributed Senate Committee preference sheets to be filled out by each Senator except those on the Senate Executive Committee.
- 5. Unfinished Business

R. Grabowski moved and P. Kendall seconded a motion to return the proposal concerning SP ED 321 (Introduction to Learning Disabilities) and EL ED 351 (Diagnostic and Remedial Reading) to the floor. Students in the dual major of special education/elementary education, it was proposed, should have the option of selecting either course to fulfill requirements. The motion carried.

6. New Business

Chairperson Evans appointed the Executive Committee to determine whether the Rohrbach Library Science Reading Room or Rohrbach Auditorium would best serve as the Senate meeting location for the 1981-82 academic year.

R. Weiss moved that the meetings take place at 4 p.m. on October 1, November 5, December 3, February 4, March 4, April 1, and May 6. R. Grabowski seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

A recommendation concerning the final examination policy was presented by M. Burkett, T. Schantz, and W. Bleckmann. Currently all sections of a given course will be given a final exam, or no section will be given a final exam. Because final evaluations are now given according to a published schedule - multiple sections are no longer grouped together - and a professor may determine the textbook for his/her section, it was recommended that the professor should also have the option of selecting the manner in which a final exam is administered.

Chairperson Evans suggested that the recommendation be turned over to the College Committee on Academic Affairs. E. Kern so moved; J. Johnson seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at 4:45 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

E. Earnest Foust

Chairperson

Laree M. Trollinger

Secretary