Kutztown University Research Commons at Kutztown University

Senate Minutes

Kutztown University Senate

Fall 9-11-1986

Senate Minutes 9-11-86

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania Kutztown, Pennsylvania

Minutes of the Faculty Senate September 11, 1986

Chairperson Valuska called the meeting to order at 4:05 p.m.

Present were: C. Arnold, R. Bazylak, P. Briere for J. Becker, R. Brumbaugh, D. Bullock, A. Chasse, H. Clinton, K. Coleman, P. Garrett, C. Gearhart, J. George, J. Gerhard, G. Goldberg, R. Gray, A. Gundry, V. Gupta, J. Hall, T. Hartz, J. Hershberger, L. Jensen, M. Kantner, E. Kennet, E. Kern, L. Ladd-Kidder, P. Laincz, J. Landis, S. Lipp-Martinez, A. McKinley, D. Peterson, A. Pisciotta for M. Renzema, I. Prokup, T. Quirk, R. Reinecke, J. Richards, T. Sanelli, J. Schellenberg, R. Wells, R. Whitcomb, R. Wittman, R. Ziegenfus.

Others in attendance were: M. Kleiner (Student Government Representative).

I. Agenda

D. Bullock moved, seconded by A. Gundry, the approval of the agenda, with the following amendment: Move VII.A. ... Election of Officers 1986-87 up to IV.A., following approval of the minutes. The motion passed.

II. Announcements

L. Ladd-Kidder announced that T. Quirk would be replacing D. Breter as the representative from Communication Design to the Faculty Senate.

L. Ladd-Kidder distributed Faculty Senate committee assignments, and requested that representatives complete them and return to the Vice-President of the Faculty Senate by the end of the meeting.

III. Minutes

V. Gupta moved, seconded by E. Kern, the approval of the minutes of May 1, 1986. The minutes were approved

IV. New Business

D. Valuska thanked the Nominating Committee and R. Bazylak,

as Chairperson, for their hard work in gathering a slate of candidates for the election of officers.

R. Bazylak thanked the Nominating Committee, composed of H. Clinton, R. Wolff, and M. Kantner, for all of their assistance.

The following people were elected officers of the Faculty Senate for 1986-87: President - J. Schellenberg Vice-President - J. Richards Secretary - I. Prokup

J. Schellenberg replaced D. Valuska as the President of the Faculty Senate, and the meeting continued.

J. Schellenberg read the following memo from Dr. Stratton, dated June 2, 1986:

I would appreciate receiving from you the names of people to serve on the following committees for the 1986-87 academic year:

- 1. Chairperson, Faculty Senate, to serve on deFrancesco Memorial Fund.
- 2. After election, officers of Faculty Senate.
- 3. Four persons to serve on Student/Faculty Committee on Student Affairs for one-year terms. (These persons are appointed).
- 4. Two persons to serve on Traffic Bureau. Persons may serve three consecutive years. Persons are selected by Faculty Senate.
- 5. Two persons to serve on the Student/Faculty Judiciary. These are three-year terms. Elected by Faculty Senate.

J. Schellenberg asked for volunteers from the Faculty Senate to serve on the above-cited committees.

J. Schellenberg read the following memo from Dr. Stratton, dated May 20, 1986:

With all due respect to members of the Faculty Senate, the resolution passed by the Faculty Senate on May 1, 1986, is moot. Please refer to my previous memoranda dated February 26, 1986 and March 26, 1986; the current policy for ordering textbooks reaffirms previous policy of the University. I do not accept the resolution offered.

I do, however, applaud and have approved the Senate's action

to recommend a representative to serve on the Student Center Board to address matters concerning the Student Cooperative Bookstore.

J. Schellenberg asked for a volunteer to serve on the Student Center Board.

J. Schellenberg read the following memo from L. Ladd-Kidder, dated May 6, 1986:

On May 1, 1986, the Faculty Senate passed the 3-18-86 proposal which suggested a rebalancing of departments/ units electing Senators in ODD versus EVEN years.

After consultation with the respective Chairs and the incumbent Senators from the departments involved, the following decisions were made regarding the implementation of the one time extension of the two year term of office to three years. Beginning with the 1990 Spring election, the three departments involved will elect Senators in EVEN years only:

Accounting & General Business--Professor T. Hartz will retain his current term of office. Therefore, the Senator elected from their department during the Spring 1987 will serve a three year term, i.e., 1987-90.

Library Science--Professor C. Gearhart will retain her current term of office. Therefore, the Senator elected from their department during the Spring 1987 will serve a three year term, i.e., 1987-90.

Special Education--Professor D. Dietrich will extend his current term of office. Therefore, Professor Dietrich's 1985-87 term of office will be adjusted to a three year term, i.e., 1985-88. In the 1988 Spring election, the department will return to electing a Senator for a two year term of office, e.g., 1988-90.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

J. Schellenberg read the following memo from D. Linn, Director, Auxiliary Services, dated September 8, 1986:

I'm aware that there was some discussion last year by members of the Faculty Senate regarding the operation of the Student Cooperative Bookstore. My understanding is that Faculty Senate has requested a faculty member serve as a non-voting member of the Student Center Board, the committee of Student Government Board which recommends Bookstore policies.

As the administrator responsible for the Bookstore and

Advisor to the Student Center Board, I'm very willing to discuss any concerns that faculty might have. I'd appreciate it if you would ask the members of Faculty Senate to please contact me with any problems or concerns that might arise. Thank you.

J. Schellenberg read the following memo from Dr. Stratton, dated June 19, 1986:

This is a follow-up to my recent memorandum of June 2, 1986 concerning appointments of faculty to committees.

For the committees indicated, the first, second, and third choices of faculty members which they sent me, are given below:

Student/Faculty on Student Affairs Committee

First Choice	Second Choice	Third Choice
Kimberly Johnston	Helen Clinton	Harry Eshleman
Richard Smith	James Nechas	Valerie Reidout
	Elizabeth Rogol	Charles Watkins
	Michael Schreier	Marian Wilson

Traffic Bureau Committee

James George Margaret Gill Jerome Hand

Raymond Lucas

V. Old Business

There was no Old Business.

VI. Standing Committees

There was no report from Curriculum Affairs Committee. There was no report from Academic Affairs Committee.

There was no report from Faculty Affairs Committee.

There was no report from Student Affairs Committee.

J. Schellenberg reminded the Faculty Senators to submit their committee preferences to J. Richards by the end of the meeting.

Ilene Prokup,

E. Kern moved, seconded by M. Kantner, to adjourn the meeting. The meeting adjourned at 4:25 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Schellenberg, Chairperson John

Secretary

-4-