Kutztown University Research Commons at Kutztown University

Senate Minutes

Kutztown University Senate

Fall 9-13-1984

Senate Minutes 9-13-84

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

KUTZTOWN UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA Kutztown, Pennsylvania

Minutes of the Faculty Senate September 13, 1984

Chairperson Marsh called the meeting to order at 4:03 p.m.

Present were: R. Bazylak, W. Bleckman, D. Bonser, P. Briere, R. Brumbaugh, D. Dahlman, A. Daneshyer, F. Dreisbach for L. Friedman, C. Gearhart, J. Gerhard, R. Grabowski, A. Gundry, V. Gupta, J. Hall, T. Hartz, G. Innocenti, H. Jones, S. Keiser, M. Kennet, M. Kern, L. Ladd-Kidder, P. Malpas, C. McFadden, P. Ori, I. Prokup, B. Ramsey, G. Schaeffer, J. Schellenberg, S. Schneider, J. Simone, R. Smith, M. St. John, S. Tibbits, J. Tinsman, D. Valuska, R. Wittman, and C. Yarrison.

Others in attendance were: P. Laincz, R. Law, L. Cohen - Student Government Representative.

I. Announcements:

Chairperson Marsh announced that Senators should sign the preference sheets for serving on the Senate standing committees and additionally for the specialized committees designated at the May 3, 1984 meeting.

F. Dreisbach announced the dates of subsequent Faculty Senate meetings on the first Thursday of the month: October 4, November 1, December 6, February 7, March 7, April 4 and May 2.

II. Agenda:

G. Innocenti moved, seconded by R. Wittman to accept the agenda as presented. Motion approved.

III. Minutes:

V. Gupta moved to approve the minutes of May 3, 1984; R. Grabowski seconded the motion. Corrections to the May minutes are as follows: To the list of persons in attendance add - C. Gearhart, C. Gerhard, C. Hamel, G. Innocenti, H. Jones, P. Malpas, G. Schaeffer, and S. Schneider.

With these additions, the May minutes were approved.

IV. Elections of Officers:

P. Briere presented the slate of nominees and distributed ballots. Chairperson Marsh asked for further nominations. There being none, Senators marked the ballots which were then counted. Elected to serve one year were:

> Chairperson - David Valuska Vice-Chairperson - Lisa Ladd-Kidder Secretary - Ilene Prokup

These officers took office and D. Valuska conducted the remainder of the meeting.

V. Announcements Concerning Committees:

Chairperson Valuska asked for volunteers to serve on the following campus committees:

- A. Campus Traffic Bureau
- B. Student/Faculty Judiciary Committee: S. Tibbits moved, seconded by P. Briere, that Tom Wolfe's name be forwarded to Dr. Stratton as a representative to the Student/Faculty Judiciary Committee. The motion passed.
- C. Elections Committee: A question was raised that the representative had been discontinued. The matter was tabled pending further investigation.

S. Tibbits moved the adjournment of the meeting, seconded by L. Ladd-Kidder. Motion passed. The meeting concluded at 4:20 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

David Valuska Chairperson

Ilene Prokup Secretary

IP:db 9-18-84