Kutztown University

Research Commons at Kutztown University

Senate Minutes

Kutztown University Senate

Fall 9-14-1995

Senate Minutes 9-14-95

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

Kutztown University Kutztown, Pennsylvania

MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE

September 14, 1995

The meeting was called to order by M. Stewart at 4:03 p.m. in the Meeting/Dining Room of the Student Union Building.

Present: Okan Akcay, Steven Andelin, Alan Apple, Len Barish, Eric Beaven, Vera Brancato, Gary Brey, Carl Brunner, Biruta Cap, Joseph Carroll, Dan Cates, Joanne Cohen, Linda Goldberg for Richard Collings, Roberta Crisson, Margaret Devlin, Dennis Dietrich, Percy Dougherty, Joseph Elias, John Erdmann, Robert Gray, James Hall, Beth Herbine, Gerard Innocenti, Sally Knappenberger, Kanchan Kumar, Lisa Ladd-Kidder, Joseph Lippincott, Kathy Lynch, Kevin McCloskey, Carol Mapes, Albert Margolis, Bette Reagan, Mildred Reilley, Renard Sacco, Randy Schaeffer, Thomas Seay, Neil Shea, Judith Smith, Marilyn Stewart, Gary Weatherspoon, Samuel Westmoreland, Susan Willis, Barth Yeboah.

Absent: Charles Clark, Russell Gross, Richard Morrison, Lisa Norris, Tania Santiago.

Also in Attendance: Morris Perinchief, Jean Smith, Doreen Tobin.

I. Announcements

- M. Stewart announced that Joseph Carroll, Tania Santiago and Gary Weatherspoon will serve on the Senate this year as student representatives.
- M. Stewart announced that Barth Yeboah will replace John Vafeas as the representative from the Department of Criminal Justice/Social Work.
- M. Stewart encouraged Senators to report back to departments and to keep lines of communication open.
- M. Stewart reminded Senate members of the procedure for having items placed on the agenda.
- L. Goldberg relayed a message from President McFarland relative to the negative publicity in the news lately.
- M. Stewart reviewed the purpose of the Senate as stated in the Constitution, Article I, Section A.
- M. Stewart reported that she received correspondence from the President of APSCUF indicating that APSCUF's version of the Grade Appeal Policy was forwarded to the President. She further reported that the Senate's version of the Grade Appeal Policy also was forwarded to the President and that the President is presently reviewing both versions.

- R. Crisson announced that the Director of Media Relations is looking for a Senate representative for the newly formed Newsmakers Roundtable. She asked that any Senate member interested in being a member of the Newsmakers Roundtable contact either M. Stewart or the Senate office.
- M. Stewart announced that the Constitution Review Committee has been meeting relative to possible changes to the Constitution.
- D. Tobin, chairperson of the Student Satisfaction Total Quality Management Team, reported on the status of the student satisfaction assessment process.

Approval of the Agenda

E. Beaven moved, L. Ladd-Kidder seconded, to amend the Agenda by moving Items A and B of New Business to Item IV. The motion passed.

E. Beaven moved, L. Ladd-Kidder seconded, to approve the Agenda as amended. The motion passed.

III. Approval of the Minutes of May 4, 1995

E. Beaven moved, P. Dougherty seconded, to approve the Minutes of May 4, 1995. The motion passed.

IV. New Business

A. Election of Senate Secretary

K. Lynch was elected Secretary of the University Senate for the 1995-96 academic year.

B. Approval of Schedule of Meeting Dates for 1995-96

E. Beaven moved, L. Barish seconded, to approve the schedule of meeting dates for the 1995-96 academic year. The motion passed.

V. Committee and Task Force Reports

A. Committee on Committees

- R. Crisson asked that committees submit to the Senate Office names of committee chairs and any changes in by-laws, etc.
- R. Crisson announced that willingness-to-serve forms will be distributed in the near future for the newly created University Judiciary.
- R. Crisson announced that there are still vacancies on the Admission Exceptions Committee, Calendar Committee, Commission on Human Diversity, and the Commission on the Status of Minorities for representatives from the College of Business.
- R. Crisson reported that the Strategic Planning and Resources Committee has

submitted a request for the following changes to the committee:

- to change the length of membership on the committee from the current two year term to a staggered three year term. The terms for those presently on the committee would be extended one year and new electees would serve a three year term.
- 2) to add to the structure of the committee the Associate Provost, the University Senate President or designee, and the APSCUF President or designee (change from the presently listed "APSCUF representative") as voting members and to add the Chair of the Administrative Council and the President of the University as ex-officio members.

It was agreed that a written recommendation will be forwarded to Senate members prior to its next meeting.

- B. Strategic Planning and Resources Committee
 - P. Devlin reported that in response to the Senate's request for the Strategic Planning and Resources Committee to review Break Session, the committee recommends that the Break Session be retained.
 - S. Westmoreland moved, L. Barish seconded, to accept the report from the Strategic Planning and Resources Committee to retain Break Session. The motion passed with one abstention.
 - L. Ladd-Kidder moved, R. Schaeffer seconded, to refer the question on guidelines for three week courses in Break Session to the Academic Standards and Policy Committee for review. The motion passed with 24 voting in favor of the motion, 12 voting against the motion and 2 abstentions.
 - R. Schaeffer moved, T. Seay seconded, to have the survey of students conducted during the 1995 Break Session refined and given again in 1996.
 - L. Ladd-Kidder moved, M. Reilley seconded, to amend the motion by adding that the results of the 1996 survey be reported to the Senate. The motion passed.

The original motion passed as amended.

VI. Adjournment

L. Ladd-Kidder moved, T. Seay seconded, to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:05 p.m.

Marilyn G. Stewart, President

Kathy) M. Lynch, Secretar