# **Kutztown University**

# Research Commons at Kutztown University

Senate Minutes

Kutztown University Senate

Summer 9-19-1967

# Senate Minutes 9-21-67

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

#### Commonwealth of Pennsylvania KUTZTOWN STATE COLLEGE Kutztown, Pennsylvania

The meeting of the Faculty Senate was called to order by the Chairman, Dr. Robert Hedrick, at 4:05 p.m., Thursday, September 21, 1967 in the Conference Room.

Those present were: Dr. Drumm, Mr. Patton, Mrs. Yost, Mr. Thomas, Dr. Kaiser, Mr. Sinclair, Dr. Sawyer, Mr. Evans, Dr. Dustan, Dr. Slick, Miss Mellner, Dr. Gresh, Mr. White, Dr. Skeath, Mr. Tinsman, Dr. Gutekunst, Dr. Prentiss, and Dr. Weiss.

moved and seconded the approval of the minutes of May 11, 1967. The motion passed.

The first item under New Business was the introduction of new reprentatives on the Faculty Senate by the Chairman. (Membership list is attached.)

The Chairman then presented the calendar of meetings of the Faculty Senate for the academic year, 1967-68. The Senate will meet on Thursdays at 4 p.m. in the Conference Room adjacent to the President's Office on the following dates: September 21, 1967, November 2, 1967, January 4, 1968, March 7, 1968, and May 9, 1968.

The Chairman conducted the election of the officers for the Faculty Senate for the academic year 1967-68. Mr. Tinsman nominated Dr. Hedrick for the office of Chairman, and Dr. Slick seconded the nomination. Dr. Slick moved for the closing of the nominations for Chairman, and Dr. Skeath seconded. Mr. Tinsman nominated Dr. Drumm for the post of Vice Chairman, and Mr. Patton seconded. Mrs. Yost moved to close the nominations for Vice Chairman, and Dr. Slick offered the second to the motion. Mrs. Yost nominated Dr. Slick for the office of Secretary, and Miss Mellner seconded. Dr. Sawyer moved to close the nominations, and Dr. Prentiss seconded the motion. Since there was no contest for any of the offices, the Chairman appointed Dr. Weiss as Secretary Pro Tem in the absence of Mrs. Mathias, who has retired from the faculty, and instructed him to cast a ballot for the officers nominated. The new officers immediately assumed their responsibilities.

The Chairman presented an item of New Business that had not been placed on the agenda. He informed the Senate that Dr. Beekey has requested the Faculty Senate to organize a Committee on Faculty Promotions. The Senate debated the matter and decided that the Chairman should appoint an ad hoc committee to study the problem and submit to the Faculty Senate at its next regular meeting a proposal for such a promotions committee.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:55 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Robert Hedrick, Chairman

Dr. Max H. Slick, Secretary

### Commonwealth of Pennsylvania KUTZTOWN STATE COLLEGE

## FACULTY SENATE MEMBERSHIP September 21, 1967

	Department	1966-68 Term (April Dept. Election)
1.	Education	Dr. Paul Drumm
2.	Foreign Language	Dr. Robert Hedrick
3.	Health and Physical Ed. for Men	Mr. Joseph Patton
4.	Library Science	Mrs. Ruth Yost
5.	Music	Mr. Roy Thomas
6.	Physical Science	Dr. Russell Kaiser
7.	Speech and Theatre	Mr. Arthur Sinclair
		1967-69 Term (April Dept. Election)
8.	Art	Dr. John Sawyer
9.	Biological Science	Mr. David Evans
10.	English	Dr. W. Gordon Dustan
11.	Geography	Dr. Max Slick
12.	Health and Physical Ed. for Women	Miss Edith Mellner
13.	History and Political Science	Dr. Levi Gresh
14.	Mathematics	Mr. Jason White
15.	Psychology	Dr. Daniel Skeath
16.	Social Science	Mr. James Tinsman

Ex-Officio Members: Dr. Cyrus Beekey
Dr. Hervey Prentiss

Dr. George Veiss