Kutztown University Research Commons at Kutztown University

Senate Minutes

Kutztown University Senate

Fall 9-20-1966

Senate Minutes 9-22-66

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

COMMONUEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA Kutztown State College Kutztown, Pennsylvania

Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting September 22, 1966

The meeting of the Faculty Senate was called to order by the Chairman, Dr. Harold C. Mantz, at 4:00 P.M., September 22, 1966 in the Conference Room.

Those present included: Dr. Beekey, Dr. Drumm, Dr. Dreisbach, Dr. Dustan, Mr. David Evans, Dr. Hedrick, Dr. Kaiser, Dr. Mantz, Mrs. Ruth Mathias, Dr. Monroe, Mr. Patton, Dr. Skeath, Mr. Slick, Mr. Roy Thomas, Mr. Tinsman, Dr. Weiss, Miss Willits, and Mrs. Yost. Dr. de Francesco was able to be present during the latter part of the meeting. Mr. Knedler was absent.

Dr. Mantz congratulated the new members on their election to the Senate and welcomed them: Dr. Dreisbach, Mr. Patton, Mr. Tinsman, and Mrs. Yost. Dr. Dreisbach is substituting for Dr. Prentiss, who is on leave, while Mr. Tinsman, recently returned from leave, is completing his term.

On motion of Mr. Thomas, seconded by Mr. Evans, the minutes of the previous meeting were approved.

The Ad Hoc Committee on the Faculty Handbook; Mrs. Ruth Mathias -Chairman, Dr. Bennett Harris, Dr. Lorraine Harvilla, Dr. Russell Kaiser, and Mr. John Dreibelbis were commended by the Chairman for a job "efficiently, and well done". The Handbook is considered "very satisfactory for the time being." As new regulations are developed, they will be added to the Handbook.

Dr. Henry Ryan presented a report from the <u>Ad Hoc Committee on College</u> Field Trips. A thorough investigation and a study, based on information supplied by Dr. Beekey, were made of class absences occasioned by field trips. Consequently, the Committee recommended that no policy of numerical restriction be established at this time, but advised that the situation be kept under observation. They further recommended that the Faculty Senate take action to insure that each Department Head will firmly impress upon his staff members that they should use discretion as to the number and time of their field trips, and that no faculty member will be allowed to schedule a field trip without the consent of the Department Head as well as that of the Dean of Academic Affairs. Mr. Slick moved that this report be accepted and that Dr. Beekey inform the faculty of this Senate action. Mr. Patton seconded the motion. The motion was carried.

On motion of Mr. Tinsman, seconded by Mr. Slick, the Senate agreed that this recommendation be added to the Faculty Handbook.

Dr. Mantz conducted the election of officers for the 1966-1967 term. Dr. Hedrick was nominated for the office of Chairman. Dr. Skeath moved to close the nominations, seconded by Mr. Tinsman. Mr, Tinsman was nominated for the office of Vice-Chairman. The nominations were closed on motion by Mr. Slick and Dr. Skeath.

Dr. Drumm and Mrs. Ruth Mathias were nominated for the office of Secretary. Mrs. Yost declined the nomination, while Dr. Monroe, being an observer, is unable to accept the nomination. The nominations were closed on motion by Mr. Thomas and Mr. Slick.

The Secretary was instructed to cast the ballot for the position of Chairman and Vice-Chairman on the motion of Mrs. Ruth Mathias and Dr. Hedrick.

Dr. Dustan was appointed judge of the election while Dr. Beekey and Mr. Evans served as tellers. Mrs. Ruth Mathias was elected Secretary of the Faculty Senate.

The Officers of the Faculty Senate for the Academic Year 1966-1967 were announced by Dr. Mantz: Chairman, Dr. Robert Hedrick; Vice-Chairman, Mr. James Tinsman; Secretary, Mrs. Ruth Mathias.

Dr. Hedrick accepted the chair from Dr. Mantz.

The first business under the leadership of Dr. Hedrick was the adoption of the calendar for regular Faculty Senate meetings for the Academic Year 1966-1967. Dr. Weiss moved and Mr. Patton seconded the motion. The motion was passed. (See attached schedule.)

The next topic discussed was the Amendment to the Faculty Senate Constitution to the effect that no faculty member shall serve more then two consecutive terms as a member of the Faculty Senate except in such instances as there may not be another qualified member of a department. After some discussion in relation to the number of terms, Dr. Dustan moved the adoption of the amendment. The motion was seconded by Mr. Slick. On a vote by hand, the motion passed with 15 approved and one abstention.

Another addition to the Faculty Senate Constitution to be brought before the membership was Amendment to the Faculty Senate Constitution for the deletion of the president of the College as an Ex-officio member of the Faculty Senate. Dr. de Francesco requested this amendment. There was a unanimous vote on the move by Dr. Dustan and a second by Dr. Mantz.

Dr. de Francesco is requesting the Board of Trustees to review the College Policy on Faculty Recuitment and Dismissal next month and it was suggested that the Faculty Senate do the same.

The members of the Faculty Senate were requested to read "The Standards for Notice of Nonreappointments" and "Academic Freedom and Tenure" as published by the American Association of University Professors. Some discussion of points in the American Association of University Professors publications and "Policy of Employment and Dismissal for Faculties of the State Teachers College of Pennsylvania" was held but no definite conclusions were reached.

Dr. Mantz moved that the topic be tabled until the next meeting, at which time the members of the Faculty Senate could reconsider the item for possible changes, reaffirmation or send it to a committee. Dr. Dustan seconded the motion which passed.

Commendation for the excellent work of the past officers was offered by Mr. Tinsman and Dr. Dustan. This was heartily agreed to by the members of the Senate.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:15 P.M.

Esther Willits, Past Secretary

Ruth G. Mathias, Secretary

Harold Mantz, Past Chairman

Robert Hedrick, Chairman

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania KUTZTOWN STATE COLLEGE

CALENDAR FOR REGULAR FACULTY SENATE MEETINGS ACADEMIC YEAR 1966-67*

 Thursday - September 22, 1966 - 4 p.m.

 Thursday - November
 3, 1966 - 4 p.m.

 Thursday - January
 5, 1967 - 4 p.m.

 Thursday - March
 2, 1967 - 4 p.m.

 Thursday - March
 1967 - 4 p.m.

* All Faculty-Senate Meetings will be held in the Conference Room adjacent to the President's Office unless so indicated.

SCHEDULED FACULTY MEETINGS

Thursday		November	10,	1966	-	4	p.m.	Art	Gallery
Thursday	NO.	February	9,	1967	6 %3	4	p.m.	Art	Gallery
Thursday	-	April	13,	1967	-	4	p.m.	Art	Gallery

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania KUTZTOWN STATE COLLEGE

FACULTY SENATE MEMBERSHIP September 22, 1966

Mr. David Evans

Mr. Max Slick

Dr. W. Gordon Dustan

Miss Esther Willits

Dr. Daniel Skeath

Department

1965-1967 Term (April Dept. Election)

Mr. James Tinsman (Jan. 1965 Dept. Election)

- 1. Social Science
- 2. Art Dr. Harold Mantz
- 3. Biological Science
- 4. English
- 5. Geography
- 6. Health and Physical Ed. for Women Mrs. Ruth Mathias
- 7. History and Political Science
- 8. Mathematics Mr. Paul Knedler
- 9. Psychology

1966-1968 Term (April Dept. Election)

Dr. Paul Drumm 10. Education 11. Foreign Language Dr. Robert Hedrick 12. Health and Physical Ed. for Men Mr. Joseph Patton Mrs. Ruth Yost 13. Library Science Mr. Roy Thomas 14. Music 15. Physical Science Dr. Russell Kaiser Dr. Annette Monroe (Observer) 16. Speech and Drama Ex-Officio Members: Dr. Italo de Francesco Dr. Cyrus Beekey Dr. Dodson Dreisbach (for Dr. Prentiss) Dr. George Weiss