Kutztown University Research Commons at Kutztown University

Senate Minutes

Kutztown University Senate

Fall 10-3-1968

Senate Minutes 10-3-68

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

Cormonwealth of Pennsylvania KUTTTOWN STATE COLLEGE Kutztown, Pennsylvania

Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting October 3, 1968

The October 3, 1968 meeting of the Faculty Senate was called to order by the Chairman, Dr. Robert Hedrick, at 4:05 in the Fresident's Conference Room.

Members present were the following: Dr. Cyrus Beekey, Dr. Josef Gutekunst, Dr. Robert Hedrick, Mrs. Ruth Yost, Dr. Lorraine Harvilla, Dr. Mary Coulter, Dr. Dodson Dreisbach, Dr. Henry Ryan, Dr. Bennett Harris, Mr. Walter Risley, Mr. Roy Thomas, Dr. Villiam Collier, Mr. Harding Jones, Dr. John Sawyer, Mr. Arthur Sinclair, Mr. Francis Curry, Dr. Walter Warzeski, Dr. Michael Yatron.

Old Business

Mr. Sinclair called members' attention to an error on page two of the minutes of the May 9, 1968 meeting, where he was included in a partial listing of new Senate members. Mr. Sinclair respectfully requested that his name and the words "Speech and Theatre" be deleted from that paragraph of the minutes.

Upon a motion by Dr. Sawyer and seconded by Mr. Thomas, the minutes of the Hay 9, 1968 meeting were approved as corrected.

New Business

Dr. Hedrick introduced the new members of the 1968-1969 Faculty Senate, as follows: Dr. Lorraine Harvilla, Special Education; Dr. Mary Coulter, Foreign Languages; Mr. Francis Curry, Physical Science; Mr. Harding Jones, Geography; Dr. William Collier, Social Science; Dr. Dodson Dreisbach, Dean of Graduate Studies (ex-officio); Dr. Henry Ryan, Dean of Teacher Education (ex-officio); Dr. Bennett Harris, Dean of Liberal Arts (ex-officio).

After the introduction of new members, Dr. Beekey addressed the Senate on future Programs of Kutztown State College (expected to attain a population of 8,000 students by 1980) and new Senate committees needed in order to implement these developments. The following are some of the highlights of Dr. Beekey's talk:

- (1) A Committee on the development of future Programs should perhaps provide for new majors in Physical Education, Business Administration and Engineering.
- (2) Dr. Beekey is asking for 40 new faculty members, in addition to the 12 positions still unfilled, a total of 52 for 1969-1970. This will permit reduction of class size.
- (5) Revision of general education curriculum needed in order to correct rigidity which caused concern to the Middle States Association. (A sister college has eliminated all subject requirements except that of two years of a foreign language.)

Minutes of the Faculty Senate October 3, 1968

- (4) Committee on Programs for the Disadvantaged: (Federal Government is sending a committee to KSC on November 7, 1968, to evaluate our Civil Rights activities.) Our Senate will have to take a stand on these matters! Dr. Beekey suggested that student teachers may soon be required to fulfil part of cadet teaching in a ghette. Many colleges and universities have already set up different admission requirements for the advantaged and the disadvantaged.
- (5) Committee on Merit Raises greatly needed. The term is ambiguous. If ten percent of the faculty are to be granted merit raises, these must be based on a careful study of relative qualifications. (Dr. Beekey reported that he had given no merit raises for this year.)
- (6) Moonlighting: Dr. Bookey said that a roduced teaching load of perhaps 12 hours per faculty member would pose greater problems with respect to "moonlighting" Dr. Beekey said that he would like to be able to pay his own staff for teaching extra classes!

The last item of new business was the election of officers of the Faculty Senate for the academic year 1968-1969.

Dr. Daniel Skeath, nominated by Dr. Sawyer, seconded by Mr. Curry, was unanimously elected Chairman of the Faculty Senate.

Dr. Gordon Dustan, nominated by Dr. Collier, was unanimously elected Vico-Chairman of the Senate.

Dr. Mary Coulter, nominated by Mr. Sinclair, seconded by Dr. Harvilla, was unanimously elected Secretary of the Senate.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 5:20 P.N.

Respectfully submitted,

Robert Hedrick Dr. Robert Hedrick, Chairman

Dr. Mary Coultor, Secretary