Kutztown University

Research Commons at Kutztown University

Senate Minutes

Kutztown University Senate

Summer 10-6-1977

Senate Minutes 10-6-77

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania KUTZTOWN STATE COLLEGE Kutztown, Pennsylvania Minutes of the Meeting of the Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate held its monthly meeting on Thursday, 6 October 1977, in the Library Science Reading Room of the Rohrbach Library, Chairman Hunkins presiding. The meeting was called to order at 4:00 p.m.

Present were Senators: Prof. Paul Apostolos, Dr. W. R. Bleckman for Prof. John Banta, Prof. James Brasted, Dr. Frank Bucci, Dr. David Dunn, Prof. John Erdmann, Prof. Robert Ensminger, Dr. Edward Evans, Prof. Andrew Felkay, Dr. Claire Gilles, Dr. Richard Grabowski, Dr. Ann Gundry, Prof. Raymond Heimbach, Dr. James Hershberger, Dr. Dalton Hunkins, Prof. William Kanasky, Prof. Leonard Kulseth, Dr. Norwood Lawfer, Dr. Anthony Mazzaferri, Dr. George Monroe, Dr. Dorothy Moyer, Prof. Samuel Ottinger, Dr. J. Allen Pawling, Prof. David Peterson, Dr. Banjamin Ramsey, Dr. Earl Reeves, Dr. Thomas Schantz, Prof. John Schellenberg, Prof. John Scott, Prof. Selma Thomson, Dr. David Valuska, Dr. Walter Warzeski, Prof. Charles Watkins, and Dr. William Worrell.

The Chairman asked for a motion to adopt the agenda. Prof. Schellenberg moved to accept the agenda, and Dr. Grabowski seconded the motion. The motion carried.

I. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF THE 8 SEPTEMBER MEETING

Following corrections to the minutes changing "Dean of Director" to read "Dean or Director" in line 13 of V, D, 1, on page 3, and the deletion of the sex oriented possessive pronoun "his" in line 2 of V, B, on page 2, the motion to approve the minutes made by Prof. Erdmann and seconded by Dr. Bucci was carried.

II. ANNOUNCEMENTS

Chairman Hunkins made the following announcements:

- A. Copies of committee appointments, based on first and second preferences of Senate members, were distributed. Committees were asked to get together immediately following the formal Senate meeting to elect a chairperson and report the results of that election to Dr. Hunkins.
- B. Four persons, all members of the Student Affairs Committee, have been selected to serve on the Student/Faculty Committee on Student Affairs. They are: Prof. Robert Ensminger, Prof. Raymond Heimbach, Dr. Thomas Schantz, and Prof. Charles Watkins.
- C. Student Government President Jim Covaleski was introduced as the student body representative at this and subsequent Senate meetings.

Although he will have no vote, he is invited to take part in Senate discussions.

D. Curricular items to be considered will be forwarded directly from the Curriculum Committee to all members of the Senate. The Senate's curriculum subcommittee will consider each item prior to the regularly scheduled Senate meeting and formulate recommendations to be submitted to the Senate. Members of the Senate should direct questions and concerns on specific items to the Senate's subcommittee on curriculum affairs in order to expedite handling the item when it comes before the Senate.

III. NEW BUSINESS

Recommendations from the Curriculum Subcommittee

- 1. Dr. Ramsey moved for the approval of a change in the course number of Sociology 470 and Social Welfare 470 to the 200 level, and Prof. Schellenger seconded the motion. After some discussion, Dr. Bucci called for the question, and he was seconded by Prof. Ottinger. The motion to reduce the course number was carried by a vote of 18 to 4.
- Dr. Ramsey moved and Prof. Brasted seconded the motion to approve Speech and Theatre 2--, Children's Theatre; and Pol. Sci. 0xx, Intro. to Comparative Politics. The motion carried.
- 3. Dr. Ramsey moved and Dr. Grabowski seconded the motion to approve the revision of the Speech & Theatre Electives for the B.S. in Elementary Education. The motion carried.

At 4:20, Prof. Ottinger moved to adjourn and Prof. Kulseth seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Dr. Dalton R. Hunkins, Chairman

Faculty Senate

Prof. Leonard Kulseth, Secretary

Faculty Senate.