## Minutes of the Special Faculty Senate Meeting October 23, 1959

The Faculty Senate convened on October 23, 1969 at 4:00 p.m. in Room 4 of the Rohrbach Library.

The following members and ex-officio members were present:

Dr. William Collier, Prof. Francis Curry, Dr. Dodson Dreisbach, Dr. Raymond Ford, Dr. William Green, Dr. Josef Gutekunst, Dr. Bennett Harris, Dr. Lorraine Harvilla, Prof. Harding Jones, Prof. James Kelly, Dr. C. Wilber Mathias, Prof. Earl Mayberry, Prof. Edith Mellner, Prof, Walter Risley, Dr. Henry Ryan, Prof. Arthur Sinclair, Prof. Jason White, Dr. Walter Warzeski, Prof. Ruth Yost. Dr. Stratton was also present.

Dr. Dreisbach moved that the senate accept the evaluation procedures as disseminated by the committee to study notice of non-reappointment of non-tenured faculty.

Dr. Green seconded the motion.

Dr. Tarzeski moved that the evaluation procedures be amended to read that the first notification of non-reappointment be carried out by registered mail. Prof. Harding Jones seconded the motion.

Motion carried.

Motion for adjournment was made by Dr. Warzeski and seconded by Dr. Mathias. Motion carried.

Dr. William Collier, Chairman

1 1. m totat

Dr. Lorraine Harvilla, Secretary

Faculty servate

## 1964 Statement on the Standards for Notice for Nonreappointment

Notice of nonreappointment, or of intention not to recommend reappointment to the governing board, should be given in writing in accordance with the following standards:

- 1. Not later than March 1 of the first academic year of service, if the appointment expires at the end of last year; or, if a one-year appointment terminates during an academic year, at least three months in advance of its termination.
- 2. Not later than December 15 of the second academic year of service, if the appointment expires at the end of that year: or, if an ititial two-year appointment terminates during an academic year, at least six months in advance of its termination.
- 3. At least twelve months before the expiration of an appointment after two or more years in the institution.

Each year Department Chairmen are to evaluate all untenured faculty members and to give them a written evaluation. Two copies of the evaluation are to go to the Chairman's Divisional Dean, who is to give one copy to the Dean of the College. In cases where the Department Chairman recommends non-reappointment or probation, the Divisional Dean and Dean of the College are to record their evaluations. The Deans will also record outstanding service. All evaluations will be reviewed by the President.

So as to meet the deadlines outlined by the AAUP, the following schedule will apply:

Evaluations for:	First Notification of Non-reappointment by Registered Mail Completed by:	Dismissal Notices by Registered Mail by:
First year faculty	January 15	March 1
Second year faculty	November 1	December 15
Third year faculty and fourth year faculty members on probation	April 1	May 31

Those to be dismissed may appeal the decision to the President for a review by the Dismissal Committee (with the President attending) if the non-tenured teacher believes that improper considerations have unmistakably affected the decision not to retain him. In such a hearing the burden of proof is on the person who asserts that there were improper reasons for the failure to reappoint. Deadlines for appeals are:

First year faculty - by February 1 Second year faculty - by November 15 Third year faculty - by April 15

Notification of dismissal shall be made by registered mail after review procedures are completed or the time for review has lapsed.

Time is provided in the sequence outlined above for appropriate action by the Board of Trustees.

October 23, 1969

-

1 man in the

Dr. William Collier Chairman, Faculty Senate

Lorine Hornilla

Dr. Lorraine Harvilla Secretary, Faculty Senate