Kutztown University Research Commons at Kutztown University

Senate Minutes

Kutztown University Senate

Fall 11-2-1972

Senate Minutes 11-2-72

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

Recommended Citation

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania, "Senate Minutes 11-2-72" (1972). *Senate Minutes*. 334. https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes/334

This Archives Document is brought to you for free and open access by the Kutztown University Senate at Research Commons at Kutztown University. It has been accepted for inclusion in Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Research Commons at Kutztown University. For more information, please contact czerny@kutztown.edu,.

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Kutztown State College Kutztown, Pennsylvania

Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting November 2, 1972

The Faculty Senate met on Thursday, November 2, 1972, in the Library Science Reading Room, Rohrbach Library, at 4:00 p.m.

Present were: Prof. Clarence Arnold, Prof. Betty Bartlett, Prof. Helen Berg, Dr. Walter Bleckmann, Prof. Mary Burkett, Dr. Kenneth Cook, Vice President Dodson Dreisbach, Dean Paul Drumm, Dr. Edward Evans, Prof. Earnest Foust, Prof. Joseph Gallo, Prof. Gerard Innocenti (substituting for Dr. Gordon Goldberg), Prof. Paul Kendall, Prof. William Klucsarits, Dr. William Laurita, Dr. Elizabeth Liddicoat, Prof. Carol Mann, Prof. Peter Miller, Dr. George Monroe, Dr. Arnold Newman, Prof. Samuel Ottinger, Dr. Earl Reeves, Prof. Dennis Roth, Dr. Edwin Schatkowski, Prof. Betty Snyder, Prof. Floyd Stauffer, Dr. Glenn Webb, Prof. Bruce Wetherhold, and Prof. Esther Willits

Dr. Monroe called the meeting to order.

Old Business

Dr. Monroe asked for approval or correction of the minutes for the October 5, 1972 meeting. Dr. Schatkowski moved that the minutes be approved. The motion was seconded by Dr. Evans and carried.

The following announcements were made by Dr. Monroe:

1. A letter has been received from Warren E. Ringler, Assistant Commissioner of Higher Education, regarding the Faculty Senate's resolution concerning approval of the proposed master's degree program requests for Kutztown State College. Copies of Mr. Ringler's letter were distributed to the members. Dr. Monroe called attention to the second paragraph of the letter which states:

"Our study of ten specific characteristics of the M.A., M.S., and M.Ed. degrees in our state colleges and university has been completed and has been submitted to the presidents, the graduate deans, the Secretary of Education and the Board of State College and University Directors."

Dr. Monroe has been informed by Dr. Stratton that this information has not been distributed to administrators on the Kutztown State College campus. Dr. Stratton has written to Mr. Ringler concerning this matter.

2. At its last meeting, the Board of Trustees established a Department of Counselor Education. The following faculty members will serve in this department: Dr. James Hershberger, Dr. Carl Pepperman, Dr. F. Terrill Riley, and Dr. H. Dale Zimmerman.

3. The Board of Trustees has decided that the renovated old gymnasium building be renamed "Risley Hall".

4. The Board of Trustees voted to have a traffic signal installed at the intersection of Route 222 and College Boulevard.

2.

5. The next meeting of the Faculty Senate Executive Committee will be held on Tuesday, November 28, 1972.

6. The next meeting of the Faculty Senate will be held on Thursday, December 7, 1972.

7. Dr. Monroe requested that those members who served on the Senate last year bring to the next meeting any information they may have regarding the meetings of March 2, 1972, and April 20, 1972, in order that the minutes of last year's meetings may be brought up to date.

8. Prof. Joseph Gallo and Dr. Earl Reeves will be on leaves of absence next semester. Dr. Reeves was asked to have the department headschoose a replacement to serve in his absence. (Prof. Gallo's substitute as at-large-Senator will be chosen in the same way as Dr. Tracy's was for the first semester.)

Dr. Monroe asked Dean Roth to comment regarding the report of the Subcommittee on Student Affairs. Dean Roth distributed copies of the report to the Senate members. He advised the members that a number of issues have been raised regarding this controversy not the least of which is the question of who controls SGB funds. The SGB is prepared to challenge the notion that this is state money. Dean Roth stated that it is all part of an identity crisis of the SGB here and elsewhere.

Dr. Monroe asked Prof. Foust to report on the findings of the Subcommittee on Faculty Affairs regarding Senate representation of smaller departments. Prof. Foust distributed copies of a proposed amendment to the Constitution of the Faculty Senate to be inserted as a part of Article II, Section I.B. Prof. Foust moved that the amendment be approved as follows: <u>Any department which has fewer</u> than five members may seek representation on the Faculty Senate by electing one representative in concert with any other department or departments so long as the sum of the departmental complements is at least five faculty members. Prof. Willits seconded the motion. Dr. Monroe appointed Dr. Newman and Prof. Ottinger as tellers and reminded the members that a 3/4 vote of the entire Senate membership (24 votes) would be required for approval of an amendment to the Constitution. The amendment failed to carry as the vote was 15 for - 13 against.

Prof. Ottinger moved that the meeting be adjourned. The motion was seconded by Prof. Wetherhold and carried. The meeting adjourned at 4:40 p.m.

George K. Monroe

George K. Monroe Chairman, Faculty Senate

Arnold E. Newman

Arnold E. Newman Secretary, Faculty Senate

rl