Kutztown University Research Commons at Kutztown University

Senate Minutes

Kutztown University Senate

Fall 11-6-1969

Senate Minutes 11-6-69

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

Recommended Citation

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania, "Senate Minutes 11-6-69" (1969). *Senate Minutes*. 320. https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes/320

This Archives Document is brought to you for free and open access by the Kutztown University Senate at Research Commons at Kutztown University. It has been accepted for inclusion in Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Research Commons at Kutztown University. For more information, please contact czerny@kutztown.edu,.

Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting November 6, 1969

The Faculty Senate met in regular session Thursday, November 6, 1969 in Room 4 of the Rohrbach Library. In attendance were: Dr. William Collier, Dr. Mary Coulter, Prof. Francis Curry, Dr. Dodson Dreisbach, Dr. Raymond Ford, Dr. William Green, Dr. Josef Gutekunst, Dr. Lorraine Harvilla, Prof. Harding Jones, Prof. James Kelly, Dr. Wilber Mathias, Prof. Earl Mayberry, Prof. Edith Mellner, Prof. Walter Risley, Dr. Henry Ryan, Prof. Arthur Sinclair, and Prof. Jason White. Prof. Esther Willits represented Dr. Walter Warzeski. Mr. Stanley W. Raugh was also present.

OLD BUSINESS

Dr. Mary Coulter moved and Prof. Earl Mayberry seconded approval of the minutes of the October 9, 1969 meeting. Motion carried.

The Ad Hoc committee on Department Hiring presented a paper of guidelines for departmental hiring of new faculty members.

After considerable discussion Prof. Jason White moved a recommendation that the Ad hoc Conmittee formulate guidelines for department chairmen with members of their staffs, chosen by a democratic process, for the selection, screening, and recruitment of new faculty.

Prof. Harding Jones seconded the recommendation. Motion carried with one opposed.

NEW BUSINESS

Dr. Henry Ryan presented the report of the Curriculum Committee (Exhibit A) in the absence of Dr. Bennett Harris.

Dr. Josef Gutekunst moved and Dr. William Green seconded a motion to accept proposal 1 of Exhibit A.

Motion passed with one abstention.

Dr. Lorraine Harvilla moved approval of proposal 2 (Exhibit A). Prof. Edith Mellner seconded the motion.

Motion carried.

Dr. Green recommended a change of from 1 to 4 c.h. in proposal 3 (Exhibit A) to 3 c.h. in keeping with the department policy of offering 3 credit courses. Dr. Wilber Mathias moved that proposal 3 be returned to the Curriculum Committee for revision. Prof. Harding Jones seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Dr. Villiam Green moved and Dr. Mary Coulter seconded the motion to approve proposal 4 (Exhibit A).

Motion carried.

Dr. William Collier, Faculty Chairman, next reported on a letter from Pres. Stratton requesting a consensus of opinion on the Senate member's feelings relative to faculty forums and/or participation in the activities on campus.

Following considerable discussion Dr. Henry Ryan moved and Prof. Arthur Sinclair seconded the motion which follows:

The Senate resolves that

- 1. Faculty members have the responsibility of teaching classes as scheduled.
- 2. We support academic freedom and the freedom of faculty members to participate if they so desire when not required to be teaching class.
- 3. Under our no-cut system attendance we recognize the student's perogative to participate as he desires.

The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Wilber Mathias moved adjournment.

Prof. Edith Mellner seconded the motion.

Respectfully submitted,

William Collie-

Dr. William Collier, Chairman

Dr. Lorraine Harvilla, Secretary