Kutztown University Research Commons at Kutztown University

Senate Minutes

Kutztown University Senate

Fall 11-25-1969

Senate Minutes 11-25-69

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

The Faculty Senate met in special session Tuesday, November 25, 1969 at four o'clock in Room 4 of the Rohrbach Library at the request of President Stratton.

The following Faculty Senate members were present: Dr. William Collier, Dr. Mary Coulter, Prof. Francis Curry, Dr. Dodson Dreisbach, Dr. William Green, Dr. Josef Gutekunst, Dr. Lorraine Harvilla, Prof. Harding Jones, Prof. James Kelly, Dr. C. Wilber Mathias, Prof. Earl Mayberry, Prof. Walter Risley, Dr. Henry Ryan, Prof. Arthur Sinclair, Prof. Jason White, Dr. Valter Warzeski, and Prof. Ruth Yost. President Stratton was also in attendance.

William Collier, Chairman, called the meeting to order.

- I. Statement by President Stratton on the committee on Long Range Curriculum Development
 - A. President Stratton defined the job of the committee on Long Range Curriculum Development as one of primary importance. It is desirable that a statement from that committee be completed by March 1, 1970. Their work, however, is not to preclude the job of Deans and Departments.
 - B. President Stratton charged the Senate to elect four faculty members to serve on the committee and suggested that they include "old salts" and "young turks".

Deans Gutekunst, Dreisbach, Harris and Ryan and two faculty members appointed by the President will be included on the committee with Dean Gutekunst serving as chairman.

President Stratton plans to be in attendance at meetings of the conmittee.

- II. Appointment by the Senate of four (4) faculty members to be members of the Committee on Long Range Curriculum Development.
 - A. Discussion followed President Stratton's statement.
 - B. Each senate member shall nominate four (4) tenured faculty members before Tuesday, December 2, 1969.
 - 1. Nominations are to be in the hands of the secretary before 4:00 p.m. Tuesday, December 2.
 - C, The top ten (10) nominees shall become a list of run-off nominees on which the senators shall vote.
 - D. Voting for the selection of four faculty members to be members of the committee shall take place at the next regular Faculty Senate meeting, Thursday, December 4, 1969.
- III. Dr. Green moved adjournment, Prof. Cury seconded the motion. Motion carried.

William R Collier Dr. Villiam Collier, Chairman

Lorraine I farvilla

Dr. Lorraine Harvilla, Secretary