### **Kutztown University**

# Research Commons at Kutztown University

**Senate Minutes** 

Kutztown University Senate

Fall 12-7-1989

## Senate Minutes 12-7-89

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

# Kutztown University Kutztown, Pennsylvania

# Minutes of the Faculty Senate

December 7, 1989

#### I. Call to Order

Chairperson K. Holland called the meeting to order at 4:04 PM.

Present were: W. Bateman, L. Bonhage, J. Brasted, H. Clinton, L. Crawshaw, D. Dahlman, F. Dreisbach, R. Fisher, T. Hickman, K. Holland, S. Keiser, K. Kenney, S. Lipp, R. Lucas, J. Luizer, K. Neyhart, E. Nieves, B. Taliaferro for B. Peters, D. Peterson, E. Rogol, D. Roth, T. Schantz, G. Sharp, P. Stepanovich, R. Gray for W. Towne, P. Traugott, R. Wittman, J. Schellenberg for C. Yarrison, R. Ziegenfus.

Absent were: C. Andrews, A. Bearse, A. Chasse, J. Collier, D. Dietrich, B. Firestone, L. Goldberg, A. Gundry, I. Hess, D. Hinkel, R. Lovell, C. McFadden, P. Miller, R. Reinecke, C. Scanzello, D. Valuska, D. Wagaman, R. Watrous, student representation.

Others in attendance were: J. Amprey, P. Briere, A. Newman.

#### II. Agenda

R. Ziegenfus moved, F. Dreisbach seconded, to approve the agenda. The motion passed.

#### III. Announcements

Chairperson K. Holland announced that elections for the new Senate were nearly complete. [See attached list.] As such, it is expected that the old Senate will meet only one more time on Feb 1, 1990, to finish any old business such as curricular matters.

#### IV. Approval of the Minutes of November 16, 1989

R. Wittman moved, E. Nieves seconded, approval of the minutes. The motion passed.

#### V. Old Business

- A. Transition from old Senate to new Senate
  - J. Schellenberg announced that members of the new Senate will be contacted in order that an organizational meeting for that new body be held during the break between semesters.

#### VI. Standing Committees

#### A. Curriculum Affairs:

R. Ziegenfus moved, D. Peterson seconded, that both items (2) listed in the printed report of the committee be approved as a group. The motion passed.

90-24: Revision in the B.S. Program in Sec. Education for Mathematics.

90-25: Change to remove prerequisite from POL/CRJ 340: Municipal Gov't.

It was noted that curricular materials did not reach the Curriculum Affairs Committee in time for them to be included in the committee's report. Since time was of the essence so that these courses could be offered during the summer, J. Schellenberg moved, R. Fisher seconded, to suspend the rules and consider all the graduate school proposals which had been already distributed to the Senators through the mail. The motion passed.

R. Fisher moved, S. Keiser seconded, that all six (6) graduate school items be approved as a group. After questions were raised about the submissions from the Psychology Department, J. Schellenberg moved, E. Nieves seconded, to separate those two proposals from the original motion. The motion to separate passed and then the motion to pass the other graduate school proposals passed.

New course, BUS 580: Independent Study in Business Administration.

New course, FIN 571: Selected Topics in Finance.

New course, ENU 5XX: The English Curriculum, 6-12.

New course, ENU 5XX: Writing Workshop for Teachers.

- J. Schellenberg moved, E. Nieves seconded, to return the two proposals from the Psychology Department back to the Graduate Council. The motion passed.
- B. Academic Affairs: No report.

C. Faculty Affairs: No report.

D. Student Affairs: No report.

#### VII. New Business

#### A. Admission of Students with Special Talent

R. Wittman moved, L. Crawshaw seconded, the approval of the policy on Special Talent Admission (approved by the Committee on Academic Affairs) as distributed to Senators through the mail. R. Wittman explained that approval of this policy would mean approval of a pilot program with an annual accountability report. The main thrust of the policy was to improve the academic quality of the football players recruited by allowing them early admission so that they aren't lost to other schools which would in turn force Kutztown University to accept less qualified students at a later date to fill out the football team.

Several wording changes were accepted as editorial changes to the policy. The phrase "comparable student population" would replace "total student population." The success rate would be determined semester by semester instead of annually. The phrase "provided the success rate is equal or greater in percent than the success rate of the total student operation" would be deleted following "1991-1992" since students eligible for the application of this policy would have to be admitted before the first evaluation of success could be made. The motion to approve the policy passed.

#### VIII. Adjournment

E. Rogol moved, E. Nieves seconded, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion passed at 4:36 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

M. Kathryn Holland, Chairperson

William E. Bateman, Secretary

## Members of the University Senate

College of Business: Mark Dinger

James Hvidding Albert Margolis

College of Education: Edward Earley

Robert A. Gray Eileen Shultz

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences: William Bateman

Linda Goldberg Marc Renzema

College of Visual and Performing Arts: James Chaney

Paul Laincz Thomas Schantz

At-Large: Mary Burkett

Edward Evans Annette Mazzaferri Jack Schellenberg David Valuska Roger Whitcomb

Administration and Professional Staff: Barry Fetterman

Michael Piovane

Students: Rob Astle

Mustafa Mohamed Ali

Unit One Employees not in the Colleges: Margaret Apostolos

APSCUF: Gary Brey

Management: Robert Wittman