### **Kutztown University**

## Research Commons at Kutztown University

**Senate Minutes** 

Kutztown University Senate

Fall 12-2-2004

## Senate Minutes 12-2-04

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

# Timenous aniversity Timenous PA Minuales of the University Seawle

December 2, 2004

W. Bateman called the meeting to order at 4:05 p.m. in 223 McFarland Student Union Building.

Present: Marilyn Baguinon (Secretary), William Bateman (President), Eric Beaven, Kristin Bremer, Emily Button, Dan Cates, Janice Chernekoff, Joan Davis, William Donner, Jack Entriken, Bruce Gottschall, Ina Grapenthin, James Hall, Kathy Hartman, Roger Hibbs, Ted Hickman, Maria Hodel, Deryl Johnson (Vice President), Kimberly Johnston, Patricia Kelleher, Tracy Keyes, John McAndrew, Matthew McKernan, Vicki Maloney for Miles DeCoster, George Paterno, Morris Perinchief, Dennis Rains, Karen Rauch, Linda Rinker, Randy Schaeffer, Neil Shea, James Sowerwine, Peg Speirs, John Vafeas, Edward Vicic, Dana Wilcox, and Karen Williams..

Absent: Len Barish, Deborah Barlieb, Margaret Devlin, Dennis Dietrich, David Laubach, Robert Martin, Gail Rothermel, and David Wagaman.

Others in attendance: Erin Bear, Javier Cevallos, Duane Crider, Debra Lynch, Joshua Fider, Jennifer Fosett, Lisa Frye, Grace Garwood, Marilyn Hudzina, and Melissa Klisk.

#### I. Announcements

- W. Bateman reported on the 2004 SECA Campaign. The total contributed was over \$35,000 and the participation rate of all employees was 40%, highest in the entire state system.
- W. Bateman announced that 2004 President's Scholarship Ball netted over \$55,000 for merit scholarships. Final figures will be published later.
- II. Approval of the Agenda
  - B. Gottshall moved, R. Schaeffer seconded, to approve the agenda. The motion passed.
- III. Approval of the Minutes of November 4, 2004
  - R. Crisson moved, E. Button seconded, to approve the Minutes of the November 4, 2004 meeting. W. Bateman noted the following correction to the Minutes. Under IV-A. Committee on Committees, it should read that the Provost is an ex officio member, not the Provost and the Vice President for Information Technology. The motion on the corrected minutes passed.
- IV. Committee and Task Force Reports
  - A. Committee on Committees
    - D. Johnson, chair of Committee on Committees, announced that we still need the names of the chairs and the annual reports or minutes for the various governance committees. D. Johnson requested that reports and minutes be sent electronically to the Senate Office, so that they may be added to the Senate website.
    - D. Johnson announced that Amadou Guisse has been nominated to the Academic Technology Committee as the representative of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. D. Johnson moved, R. Crisson seconded the approval. The motion passed.

B. General Education Restructuring Team

Chair D. Lynch reported on recent activities. She said that the "Food for Thought" sessions were going very well and that the next session was scheduled for Dec. 13.

C. Academic Technology Committee Report

D. Crider, chair of the ATC, distributed copies of the Academic Technology Strategic Plan. He reported on the activities of the ATC and of its subgroups.

#### V. Old Business

There was no old business

#### VI. New Business

A. Election of Senate President (2-year term) and Senate Secretary (1-year term)

Nominating Committee: Jim Hall (Chair), Kristine Bremer, and Tracy Keyes.

J. Hall ran the election. He announced that W. Bateman was the only nominee for Senate President. He asked for nominations from the floor. D. Johnson moved, R. Crisson seconded, to close nominations. The motion passed. The secretary was instructed to cast the ballot for W. Bateman. J. Hall announced that Marilyn Baguinon was the only nominee for Senate Secretary. He asked for nominations from the floor. R. Crisson moved, R. Schaeffer seconded, to close nominations. The motion passed. The secretary was instructed to cast the ballot for herself.

B. Voting to approve December 2004 graduates.

B. Bateman called for a motion to approve the December graduates as certified by the Registrar's Office. E. Beaven moved, R. Crisson seconded, to approve the December 2004 graduates. The motion passed.

### VII. Adjournment

M. Perinchief moved, B. Gottshall seconded, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion passed. The meeting was adjourned at 4:37 PM.

Signed:	
William E. Bateman, President	Marilyn C. Baguinon, Secretary