Kutztown University Research Commons at Kutztown University

Senate Minutes

Kutztown University Senate

Summer 12-1-2005

Senate Minutes 12-1-05

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

Recommended Citation

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania, "Senate Minutes 12-1-05" (2005). *Senate Minutes*. 407. https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes/407

This Archives Document is brought to you for free and open access by the Kutztown University Senate at Research Commons at Kutztown University. It has been accepted for inclusion in Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Research Commons at Kutztown University. For more information, please contact czerny@kutztown.edu,.

KUTZTOWN UNIVERSITY Minutes of the University Senate Thursday, December 1, 2005

W. Bateman called the meeting to order in 223 McFarland Student Union Building at 4:07 p.m.

Present: Marilyn Baguinon (Secretary), Len Barish, William Bateman (President), Eric Beaven, Kristin Bremer, Roberta Crisson, Miles DeCoster, Michael Demetor, Patricia Derr, William Donner, Kevin Erdie, Lisa Frye, Bruce Gottschall, Joe Gushen, James Hall, Kathy Hartman, Roger Hibbs, Ted Hickman, Marilyn Hudzina, James Hvidding, William Jefferson, Lori Don Levan, Robert Martin, George Paterno, Ilene Prokup, Karen Rauch, Robert Ryan, Paul Sable, Loline Saras, Randy Schaeffer, Judith Smith, Kelly Smith for Matthew McKernan, Laura Springman, Pietro Toggia, Madan Varma, David Wagaman, and Karen Williams.

Absent: Deborah Barlieb, Joan Davis, Ina Grapenthin, Deryl Johnson (Vice President), Tracy Keyes, David Laubach, John McAndrew, Lauri Mondschein, Morris Perinchief, Dennis Rains, Linda Rinker, Gail Rothermel, and Maria Sanelli.

I. Announcements

W. Bateman announced that about \$100,000.00 was cleared at the Scholarship Ball on November 5. This is a big increase from the first two years.

W. Bateman updated the Senate on the SECA Campaign count and amount, 245 donors have contributed \$27,500.00. This was third highest percentage for the State System behind Edinboro University and the Chancellor's Office.

II. Approval of the Agenda

E. Beaven moved, R. Crisson seconded, to approve the Agenda. The motion passed.

III. Approval of the Minutes

P. Sable moved, M. Varma seconded, to approve the Minutes of the November 3, 2005, meeting. The motion passed.

- IV. Committee and Task Force Reports
 - A. Committee on Committees

In the absence of D. Johnson, J. Smith made a motion to approve the committee appointments (after the final call) as distributed at the meeting. The motion passed.

J. Smith made a motion to have the name of the Events Scheduling Committee be changed to *Events Advisory Council*. The motion passed.

B. General Education Restructuring Team

D. Lynch, Chair of the General Restructuring Team, stated that the Committee, Dr. Cevallos, and about 120 faculty members met earlier today. This discussion was very

lively and engaging. The Team would be having more meetings in the future to continue this discussion. Check the website for updated information.

C. Budget Review Committee

W. Bateman reported that the Budget Review Committee members have met with the non-instructional directors and unit leaders of the university and have informed them that the BRC Committee wants the budget decentralization to be an open process and that the BRC welcomes any suggestions.

The site visit to West Chester has been postponed until the Spring 2006 semester. The next meeting of the BRC Committee will be held on December 7, in which the Committee hopes to have the goal setting completed. All are invited to attend. Check the committee's website for updated information.

V. Old Business

W. Bateman announced that the elections for Senate Vice President (two-year term) and Senate Secretary (one-year term) will be run by R. Schaeffer, (Chair), of the Ad Hoc Election Committee. The other committee members are Kristin Bremer and Paul Sable. R. Schaeffer announced that the only nominee for Senate Vice President was J. Smith. He asked for nominations from the floor. There being none, P. Derr moved, L. Frye seconded, to close nominations. The motion passed. The secretary was instructed to cast the ballot for J. Smith.

R. Schaeffer announced that there weren't any nominees for Senate Secretary. He asked for nominations from the floor. J. Smith moved, seconded by M. Decoster, to nominate L. Frye. B. Gottschall moved, M. Decoster seconded, to close nominations. The motion passed. The secretary was instructed to cast the ballot for L. Frye.

VI. New Business

W. Bateman called for a motion to approve the December 2005 graduates as certified by the Registrar's Office. R. Crisson moved, T. Hickman seconded, to approve the December graduates. The motion passed.

VII. Adjournment

B. Gottschall moved, G. Paterno seconded, to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed and the meeting was adjourned at 4:17 p.m.

Signed:

lid

Liliam E. Bateman Marilyn C. Baguinon, Secretary William E. Bateman, President

Page 2