Kutztown University

Research Commons at Kutztown University

Senate Minutes

Kutztown University Senate

Fall 12-7-2000

Senate Minutes 12-7-00

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

Kutztown University Kutztown, Pennsylvania

MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE December 7, 2000

R. Crisson called the meeting to order at 4:05 p.m. in Room 223 of the Student Union Building.

Present: Okan Akcay, Deborah Barlieb, Jorie Borden, Dan Cates, Charles Clark, Roberta Crisson, Richard Crooker, Joan Davis, Miles DeCoster, Carl Brunner for Margaret Devlin, Paula Duda, John Erdmann, Lisa Frye, Michael Gabriel, Jill Givler, Linda Goldberg, Bruce Gottschall, Russell Gross, James Hall, Roger Hibbs, Ted Hickman, Joan Holleran, Gerard Innocenti, Deryl Johnson, Diane Johnson, Kimberly Keenan-Kirkpatrick, Samuel Keiser, Kevin Kjos, John Kopko, Joseph Lippincott, Carol Mapes, Sara McKinsey, Lisa Norris, Morris Perinchief, Suzanne Prestoy, Gail Rothermel, Randy Schaeffer, Andrew Skitko, James Sowerwine, Peg Speirs, John McAndrew for Theresa Stahler, Mary Theis, William Towne, Raymond Tumbleson, John Vafeas, Madan Varma.

Absent: Emmanuel Akillas, Dennis Dietrich, Stacie Porosky, Jean Mae Smith, Girma Zelleke.

I. Announcements

- S. Keiser indicated that the English Department will be requesting at a future meeting the Senate's support regarding the following issues:
 - The Department, on behalf of the President's Round Table on Alcohol and Other Drugs, requests that the Rohrbach Library be kept open with a minimum staff on Friday and Saturday evenings in the future.
 - The Department requests that Rohrbach Library renew its subscription for *Books in Print* and that this document, in hard copy or CD format, be made available to faculty and students of the university.
- D. Johnson announced that information will be distributed to the University community in the near future relative to Performing Diversity II.

II. Approval of the Agenda

R. Schaeffer moved, M. Perinchief seconded, to amend the Agenda by moving Approval of Candidates for December 2000 Graduation to immediately following Approval of the Minutes. The motion passed.

M. DeCoster moved, M. Perinchief seconded, to approve the Agenda as amended. The motion passed.

III. Approval of the Minutes of November 2, 2000

R. Schaeffer moved, J. Davis seconded, to approve the Minutes of November 2, 2000. The motion passed.

IV. Approval of Candidates for December 2000 Graduation

J. Hall moved, T. Hickman seconded, to approve the list of candidates for December 2000 graduation, pending completion of all degree requirements. The motion passed.

V. Committee and Task Force Reports

A. Academic Standards and Policy Committee

No report.

B. Committee on Committees

No report.

C. Strategic Planning and Resources Committee

M. DeCoster referred to the sub-committee report on prioritization that was distributed to Senate members. He, along with L. Goldberg, answered questions relative to the proposal.

The following errors were noted on the first page of the sub-committee report relative to the four spheres of academic excellence:

- 3. Teacher Education *Instructional Technology Management* should be *Instructional Technology*;
- 4. Business: *Industrial Technology Management* should be added after *M.B.A.*
- T. Hickman moved, M. Varma seconded, to recommend that the Strategic Planning and Resources Committee document the perceived flaws in the prioritization process to be delivered back to the Senate and to provide suggestions for how to avoid the happening of the same mistakes. The motion passed.
- B. Gottschall moved, R. Schaeffer seconded, to thank the Strategic Planning and Resources Committee for the report. The motion passed.

VI. New Business

A. Election of President-Elect and Secretary-Elect

R. Schaeffer was elected President-Elect of the University Senate and P. Speirs was elected Secretary-Elect of the University Senate. R. Crisson thanked C. Mapes for her service as Senate secretary.

VII. Adjournment

M. DeCoster moved, M. Perinchief seconded, to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:50 p.m.

Roberta L. Crisson, President

Carol C. Mapes, Secretary

djt