### **Kutztown University**

# Research Commons at Kutztown University

**Senate Minutes** 

Kutztown University Senate

Fall 10-6-2005

## Senate Minutes 10-6-05

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

#### **KUTZTOWN UNIVERSITY**

### Minutes of the University Senate Thursday, October 6, 2005

W. Bateman called the meeting to order in 223 McFarland Student Union Building at 4:04 p.m.

Present: Marilyn Baguinon (Secretary), Len Barish, Deborah Barlieb, William Bateman (President), Eric Beaven, Kristin Bremer, Roberta Crisson, Miles DeCoster, Patricia Derr, William Donner, Kevin Erdie, Lisa Frye, Ina Grapenthin, Joe Gushen, James Hall, Ted Hickman, Marilyn Hudzina, William Jefferson, Deryl Johnson (Vice President), Tracy Keyes, Lori Don Levan, Robert Martin, John McAndrew, Heather Meadows for Kathy Hartman, Ilene Prokup, Dennis Rains, Karen Rauch, Robert Ryan, Maria Sanelli, Loline Saras, Randy Schaeffer, Judith Smith, Laura Springman, Pietro Toggia, Madan Varma, Karen Wanamaker for Bruce Gottschall, and Karen Williams.

Absent: Mike Demetor, Roger Hibbs, James Hvidding, David Laubach, Matthew McKernan, Lauri Mondschein, George Paterno, Morris Perinchief, Linda Rinker, Gail Rothermel, Paul Sable, and David Wagaman.

Also in Attendance: Ellen Finks

#### I. Announcements

W. Bateman announced that the Provost Search Committee is composed of the following people: R. Martin (Chair), D. Barlieb (Graduate School), I. Blake (Cabinet), R. Bernhardt (Dean's Council), A. Daneshyar (Business), B. Flatley (Library), T. McFeely (VPA), A. McKinley (APSCUF), E. Simpson (LAS), T. Stahler (Education), and C. Woodard (Student Services).

W. Bateman announced the names of two new Senators: M. Demetor representing Professional Staff, and R. Ryan, At-Large Senator. W. Bateman asked the three new student Senators to introduce themselves: Kevin Erdie, Joe Gushen, and Laura Springman.

W. Bateman reminded the Senate that the Scholarship Ball would be held on Saturday, November 5 at the TEK Park in Breinigsville. The cost is \$125.00 per person. If you have any questions, contact Barbara Walczak at the KU Foundation Office.

W. Bateman distributed an informational letter about the activities of the State Employee Combined Appeal (SECA). The local campaign began on October 4 with a breakfast meeting of campaign volunteers. The main goal is to raise the participation rate of KU faculty and staff from 40% last year to 50% this year. As an extra incentive, there will be five weekly raffles on consecutive Thursdays starting on Oct. 13.

#### II. Approval of the Agenda

M. Varma moved, R. Schaeffer seconded, to approve the Agenda. The motion passed.

#### III. Approval of the Minutes

R. Crisson moved, E. Beaven seconded, to approve the Minutes of the September 1, 2005, meeting. The motion passed.

#### IV. Committee and Task Force Reports

#### A. Committee on Committees

D. Johnson moved Motion 1 on the Agenda to make the Director of Cultural Affairs an *exofficio* member of the Events Scheduling Committee. The motion passed.

- D. Johnson moved Motion 2 on the Agenda to replace the representative from Mathematics and Computer Science Department (which has now split into two departments) by a representative from the Computer Science Department on the Academic Technology Committee. T. Hickman moved to table the motion since this matter should first be discussed within the committee. J. Hall seconded the motion. The motion to table passed.
- D. Johnson announced that Motion 3 as listed on the Agenda will not be voted on at this meeting since the Senate rules require that changes to the constitution be announced at one meeting of the Senate and voted upon at the next meeting. Motion 3 reads as follows: "Update the Senate Constitution to reflect the fact that Mathematics and Computer Science split into two departments and other departments have changed names".
- D. Johnson thanked those governance committees who have been sending the Senate Office their meeting minutes and names of their chairs.
- D. Johnson asked that each Senator get a feedback from their department regarding a previous motion on how to fill in vacancies in governance committees. This motion states that temporary faculty may be chosen to serve on governance committees after the Willingness-to-Serve Call has been made in spring and fall and staff of the non-college divisions such as Counseling Services, Library Faculty, and Advisement Faculty have had a chance to fill those positions. This motion will be brought forward at a future Senate meeting.
- B. General Education Restructuring Team
  - R. Schaeffer spoke on behalf of D. Lynch, Chair of the General Restructuring Team. He stated that the Team would meet with a few more departments this semester. He hoped that the Team would soon be ready with a General Education model to be presented to President Cevallos. Later, the model will be presented to the faculty and perhaps election will take place in the spring.
- C. Budget Review Committee
  - W. Bateman reported that the Budget Review Committee (BRC) had recently met with the department chairs that were updated on the budget review process. The committee plans to investigate some schools that failed at decentralization and have sites visits to some schools that were successful at decentralization. For updates on committee activities and all the minutes of the BRC, check out the website.
- V. Old Business
  - W. Bateman announced that there was no old business.
- VI. New Business
  - W. Bateman announced that there was no new business.
- VII. Adjournment
  - D. Rains moved, M. Baguinon seconded, to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed, and the meeting was adjourned at 4:28 p.m.

Signed:

William E. Bateman, President

Marilyn C. Baguinon, Secretary