Kutztown University

Research Commons at Kutztown University

Senate Minutes

Kutztown University Senate

Fall 10-2-2003

Senate Minutes 10-2-03

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

Kutztown University Kutztown, Pennsylvania

MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE

October 2, 2003

W. Bateman called the meeting to order in Room 223 of the Student Union Building at 4:02 p.m.

Present: Marilyn Baguinon, William Bateman, Eric Beaven, Emily Button, Dan Cates, James Chaney, Janice Chernekoff, Miles DeCoster, Donna Burgraff for Peggy Devlin, Pascale Dewey, George Paterno for Linda Goldberg, Bruce Gottschall, Amadou Guissé, James Hall, Beth Herbine, Roger Hibbs, Paula Holoviak, Deryl Johnson, Patricia Kelleher, Lisa Ladd-Kidder, David Laubach, Joseph Lippincott, Lou Scala for Carol Mapes, Robert Martin, Joseph McSparran for John McAndrew, George Paterno, Morris Perinchief, Ilene Prokup, Dennis Rains, Neil Shea, Andrew Skitko, Judith Smith, James Sowerwine, Raymond Tumbleson, John Vafeas, Edward Vicic, Dana Wilcox, Clark Yeager.

Absent: Deborah Barlieb, Jorie Borden, Joan Davis, Dennis Dietrich, James Hvidding, Kevin Kjos, Charles Roth, Gail Rothermel, Paul Sable, David Tavakoli, Representative from Accounting/Finance Department.

Others in Attendance: Brett Cook, William Donner, Jennifer Jarman, Maureen Kelly, John Landis, Molly Myers, William Sutton.

I. Announcements

W. Bateman indicated that without objection the agenda would be modified to move the Academic Standards and Policies Committee to the beginning of the agenda in order to give the committee chair, W. Donner, time to present the plus/minus grading proposal from the committee before he had to leave for class.

IV. A. Academic Standards and Policy Committee - Plus/Minus Grading

W. Donner presented and explained a proposal for plus/minus grading with the following grades:

Senators made initial comments about the proposal, and representatives were asked to discuss both the proposal and the process for passing the proposal with their respective constituencies. The proposal will be on the agenda for the November Senate meeting. W. Donner indicated that he would forward a list of websites that discuss plus/minus grading to Senate members.

Presentation about a new KU Logo: W. Sutton indicated that the process has begun to create a new logo for KU. John Landis presented the proposed design. It was noted that the logo still requires approval by the Council for Trustees.

W. Sutton encouraged Senate members to attend the upcoming Presidential Scholarship Ball to be held on November 8. He indicated that all money earned from ticket sales and auction will go directly to scholarships since the expenses for the event have been completely underwritten.

Student representative E. Button expressed concern over some professors discussing negotiations during class time. It was suggested that SGB contact APSCUF about this matter. In addition, the APSCUF representative to the Senate will take this concern back to APSCUF.

Student representative D. Wilcox announced that there would be two "open" forums presented by the Student Government Board relative to a possible strike. Representatives from APSCUF and SSHE will discuss issues relating to negotiations at a forum scheduled on October 6 at 5:00 p.m. and the Provost, Dr. Goldberg, and the Vice President of Student Affairs, Dr. Woodard, will discuss issues concerning the university in the event of a strike on October 8 at 4:00 p.m.

- II. Approval of the Agenda
 - J. Lippincott moved, P. Dewey seconded, to approve the Agenda as amended. The motion passed.
- III. Approval of the Minutes of September 11, 2003
 - M. Baguinon moved, B. Gottschall seconded, to approve the Minutes of the September 11, 2003 meeting. The motion passed.
- IV. Committee and Task Force Reports
 - B. Committee on Committees
 - M. Perinchief moved, M. DeCoster seconded, approval of the following appointments:

Academic Standards and Policy Committee - Carol Teske

Center for the Enhancement of Teaching Advisory Board – Roger Hibbs

Commission on Human Diversity - James Williams

Commission on the Status of Minorities - James Williams

Enrollment Management Committee - Deborah Johnson

Undergraduate Exceptions Committee - Sandra Chambers

The motion passed. M. Perinchief expressed special thanks to Committee on Committee members Abdul Sraiheen and Judy Smith for their work in finding representatives to serve on the committees.

- M. Perinchief announced a new feature of the Senate website. The website now lists the complete membership for every committee that reports to the Senate.
- V. Old Business none.
- VI. New Business none.
- VII. Adjournment
 - B. Gottschall moved, M. DeCoster seconded, to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:58 p.m.

William E. Bateman, President

Deryl B. Johnson, Secretary