Kutztown University

Research Commons at Kutztown University

Senate Minutes

Kutztown University Senate

Fall 9-12-2002

Senate Minutes 9-12-02

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

Kutztown University Kutztown, Pennsylvania

MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE September 12, 2002

R. Schaeffer called the meeting to order at 4:03 p.m. in Room 223 of the Student Union Building.

Present: Marilyn Baguinon, Deborah Barlieb, William Bateman, Jorie Borden, Gary Brey, Dan Cates, Janice Chernekoff, Jennifer Clarke, Richard Crooker, Joan Davis, Miles DeCoster, Peggy Devlin, Pascale Dewey, Michael Gambone, Lauren Genn, Charles Cullum for Linda Goldberg, Bruce Gottschall, Russell Gross, James Hall, Beth Herbine, Brad Johnson, Deryl Johnson, Diane Johnson, Patricia Kelleher, Kevin Kjos, Stacey Klusaritz, Lisa Ladd-Kidder, Joseph Lippincott, Carol Mapes, Morris Perinchief, Dennis Rains, Patricia Richter, Charles Roth, Paul Sable, Randy Schaeffer, Neil Shea, Joseph Chuk for Andrew Skitko, Judith Smith, Peg Speirs, John McAndrew for Theresa Stahler, Heather Thomas, William Towne, Raymond Tumbleson, John Vafeas, Bob Watrous, Girma Zelleke.

Absent: Dennis Dietrich, Roger Hibbs, Kimberly Keenan-Kirkpatrick, Suzanne Prestoy, Gail Rothermel.

Also in Attendance: Philip Breeze, David Bullock, F. Javier Cevallos, Duane Crider, Susan Czerny, David Haas, Kate Kramer, Richard Zera.

I. Announcements

A moment of silence was held for those who lost their lives on September 11, 2001 and for those who continue to lose their lives in this time of war. R. Schaeffer thanked the people responsible for organizing the events held on campus in remembrance of this day.

R. Schaeffer introduced President Cevallos and extended him a warm welcome.

Approval of the Agenda

R. Watrous moved, M. Baguinon seconded, to approve the Agenda. B. Herbine moved, D. Johnson seconded, to amend the Agenda by moving **Approval of Senate Meeting Dates** to immediately following Approval of the Agenda. The motion to amend the Agenda passed.

The Agenda was approved as amended.

III. Approval of Senate Meeting Dates for 2002-03

M. DeCoster moved, M. Perinchief seconded, to approve the list of Senate meeting dates

- C. Mapes moved, D. Johnson seconded, to add the following to the **Actions** and **Timeline** section of the document:
 - 4. The ATC will develop an assessment plan.

The motion passed.

The original motion to approve the proposed Academic Technology Strategic Plan passed as amended.

B. Committee on Committees

M. Perinchief moved, L. Ladd-Kidder seconded, to approve the following committee membership changes:

Academic Technology Committee - remove Representative from University Systems Committee and add a Representative from Learning Technologies Center as an ex officio member of the committee (Lori Carabello);

Library Committee - remove a Representative from the AV Department from the composition of the committee;

Financial Aid Committee - add Diane Johnson as an At-Large Faculty member:

Honorary Degree Committee - add Diane Johnson as an At-Large Faculty member.

The motion passed.

M. Perinchief indicated that a representative from the Senate is still needed for the Center for Enhancement of Teaching Advisory Council and that any Senator interested in serving on this committee should contact R. Schaeffer.

R. Schaeffer indicated that a representative from the College of Business is needed for the Grade Appeal Board and that any Senator interested in serving on this committee should contact him.

Events Scheduling Committee - D. Johnson expressed concern over the difficulty in the scheduling of rooms, especially in Rickenbach.

C. Strategic Planning and Resources Committee

M. DeCoster indicated that the first meeting of the committee will be held in the near future and that he will have a report for the next Senate meeting.