Kutztown University Research Commons at Kutztown University

Senate Minutes

Kutztown University Senate

Fall 9-2-2004

Senate Minutes 9-2-04

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

Kutztown University Kutztown, Pennsylvania

MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE September 2, 2004

W. Bateman called the meeting to order at 4:02 p.m. in Room 223 of the Student Union Building.

Present: Marilyn Baguinon (Secretary), William Bateman (President), Len Barish, Eric Beaven, Kristin Bremer, Emily Button, Janice Chernekoff, Roberta Crisson, Kate Clair for Miles DeCoster, Margaret Devlin, Dennis Dietrich, Bruce Gottschall, Kevin Kjos for Ina Grapenthin, James Hall, Kathy Hartman, Ted Hickman, Maria Hodel, James Hvidding, Deryl Johnson (Vice President), Kimberly Johnston, Patricia Kelleher, Tracy Keyes, Robert Martin, John McAndrew, Matthew McKernan, George Paterno, Dennis Rains, Karen Rauch, Gail Rothermel, Paul Sable, Randy Schaeffer, James Sowerwine, Peg Speirs, Samuel Westmoreland for David Tavakoli, John Vafeas, Edward Vicic, and Dana Wilcox.

Absent: Deborah Barlieb, Joan Davis, Roger Hibbs, David Laubach, Morris Perinchief, Linda Rinker, Charles Roth, Neil Shea, David Wagaman, and Karen Williams.

Also in Attendance: President Javier Cevallos, Duane Crider, Mike Gifford, Debbie Lynch, Rick Miller, and Rich Zera.

I. Announcements

After everyone in attendance introduced himself or herself, R. Zera and members of the IT Department answered questions relative to the computer replenishment process that is currently underway. It was noted that as of now there is no delivery date for the IMACS.

W. Bateman announced that plans are underway for the Presidential Scholarship Ball to be held on November 6. He indicated that additional information would be distributed in the near future.

W. Bateman encouraged Senate members to consider contributing to the United Way Campaign and asked that each department identify one person to serve as Campaign Captain.

II. Approval of the Agenda

E. Beaven moved, R. Crisson seconded, to approve the Agenda. The motion passed.

III. Approval of the Minutes of April 29, 2004

E. Beaven moved, R. Schaeffer seconded, to approve the Minutes of the April 29, 2004 meeting. It was noted that K. Rauch and M. Devlin were both present at the meeting. The Minutes were approved as amended.

- IV. Committee and Task Force Reports
 - A. Strategic Planning and Resources Committee

Dr. Cevallos announced that within the next couple of weeks a blue ribbon task force would

be developed to look at the budget process on campus and the possibility of decentralizing the budget. He indicated that W. Bateman would chair that committee.

B. Committee on Committees

D. Johnson reported that the Committee on Committees would be involved in the selection of the some of the members of the task force that will look at the budget process on campus.

D. Johnson further reported that the Committee on Committees will be asking the committees that report to the Senate to give a report of last year's activities.

C. C. General Education Restructuring Team

D. Lynch, chairperson of the General Education Restructuring Team, distributed a schedule of the "Food for Thought" sessions to be held during the Fall Semester.

D. Lynch reported that voting on the goals and mission will be available online within the next few days. She further reported that there will be an ideas process established relative to the critical elements of the model and that to date the Ideas Syntheses Team will consist of Chris Sacchi, Joanne Bucks, Dave Haas, and Theresa Stahler.

V. Old Business

There was none.

- VI. New Business
 - A. Senate Meeting Dates for 2004-2005 see Senate website

T. Hickman moved and R. Crisson seconded that the meeting dates listed on the Senate website be approved. The motion passed.

VII. Adjournment

R. Schaeffer moved and P. Devlin seconded that the meeting be adjourned. The motion passed. The meeting was adjourned at 5:05 PM.

Signed: William E. Bateman, President Marilyn Baguinon, Secretary

back to University Senate Home Page!

11/2/2004