# Kutztown University Research Commons at Kutztown University

Senate Minutes

Kutztown University Senate

Fall 9-13-2001

## Senate Minutes 9-13-01

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

#### Kutztown University Kutztown, Pennsylvania

#### MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE September 13, 2001

R. Schaeffer called the meeting to order at 4:03 p.m. in Room 223 of the Student Union Building.

Present: Okan Akcay, Emmanuel Akillas, Marilyn Baguinon, Deborah Barlieb, William Bateman, Jorie Borden, Amanda Carr, Dan Cates, Meghan Chapman, Joan Davis, Miles DeCoster, Pascale Dewey, Dennis Dietrich, Michael Gabriel, Linda Goldberg, Bruce Gottschall, Russell Gross, James Hall, Beth Herbine, Roger Hibbs, Ted Hickman, Paula Holoviak, Gerard Innocenti, Deryl Johnson, Diane Johnson, Lisa Ladd-Kidder, Joseph Lippincott, Carol Mapes, Morris Perinchief, Suzanne Prestoy, Randy Schaeffer, Andrew Skitko, Judith Smith, James Sowerwine, Peg Speirs, John McAndrew for Theresa Stahler, Heather Thomas, William Towne, Raymond Tumbleson, John Vafeas, Madan Varma, Bob Watrous, Girma Zelleke.

Absent: Charles Clark, Richard Crooker, Kimberly Keenan-Kirkpatrick, Kevin Kjos, Gail Rothermel, Jean Mae Smith.

Also in Attendance: Ira Blake, Philip Breeze, Roberta Crisson, Charles Cullum, Richard Zera.

I. Announcements

A moment of silence was held for the victims of the September 11 tragedy. L. Goldberg and B. Watrous provided information on upcoming events on campus relative to this tragedy.

L. Goldberg introduced the following new members of the university community:

Ira Blake - Assistant to the President/Enrollment Management; Philip Breeze - Public Relations Director; Charles Cullum - Associate Provost

R. Zera addressed the recent problems with the computer networking system on campus.

B. Watrous moved, M. DeCoster seconded, to amend the Agenda by moving **Approval** of **Senate Meeting Dates for 2001-02** to immediately following Approval of the Minutes. The motion passed.

### II. Approval of the Agenda

T. Hickman moved, M. Perinchief seconded, to approve the Agenda. The motion passed.

III. Approval of the Minutes of May 3, 2001

M. DeCoster moved, M. Perinchief seconded, to approve the Minutes of May 3, 2001. The motion passed.

IV. Approval of Senate Meeting Dates for 2001-02

M. Perinchief moved, M. DeCoster seconded, to approve the list of Senate meeting dates for the 2001-02 academic year. The motion passed.

- V. Committee and Task Force Reports
  - A. Committee on Committees

M. Perinchief proposed the following changes to committee memberships:

- Academic Technology Committee addition of David Bullock as Communication Design Department representative;
- Committee on Committees addition of Karin Sergel as APSCUF representative;
- International Affairs Committee Jim McNiff to replace Roberta Crisson as a representative from College of Visual and Performing Arts;
- International Affairs Committee addition of a one-year position for Cheryl Agulnick to help with the Spring 2002 Conference;
- Undergraduate Exceptions Committee Dahn Hiuni to replace Morris Perinchief as a representative from the College of Visual and Performing Arts

The motion to approve the above committee changes passed.

M. Perinchief indicated that there are still various vacancies on committees and that anyone interested in serving on any of the following committees should contact him:

- Admission Exceptions Committee a representative from the College of Business;
- Athletic Policies and Programs Committee a coach from a man's highlighted sport;
- Campus Beautification Committee a representative from the College of Business;
- Commission on Human Diversity a professional staff member and a representative from the College of Business;
- Commission on the Status of Women a female professional/non-faculty member from SUA or Management;
- Events Scheduling Committee a professional staff member from Residence Life;
- Graduate Exceptions Committee a graduate faculty member from the College of Visual and Performing Arts;

International Affairs Committee - an academic dean or director;

Library Committee – an Audiovisual Communications faculty or staff member;

New Student Programs Advisory Board – a representative from the College of Business;

Space Allocation and Renovation Committee – a representative from the University Senate and a representative from the College of Business; University Judiciary – an at-large faculty member; University Traffic Bureau – an at-large faculty member

B. Strategic Planning and Resources Committee

M. DeCoster indicated that the committee will be having its first meeting in the near future.

#### VI. Old Business

A. Academic Program Review Process

L. Ladd-Kidder moved, M. DeCoster seconded, to remove from the table discussion of the proposed revisions to the Academic Program Review Process. The motion passed.

M. DeCoster moved to approve the proposed Academic Program Review Process.

Senate members suggested various changes to the document. L. Goldberg indicated that the document will be brought back to the Senate for approval after the suggested changes are made to it.

M. Perinchief moved, M. DeCoster seconded, to table discussion of the proposal and to send it back to committee. The motion passed.

#### VII. Adjournment

B. Herbine moved, M. DeCoster seconded, to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:05 p.m.

Randy S/Schaeffer, President

Speirs, Secretary

djt