Kutztown University Research Commons at Kutztown University

Senate Minutes

Kutztown University Senate

Spring 5-3-2001

Senate Minutes 5-3-01

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

Kutztown University Kutztown, Pennsylvania

MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE May 3, 2001

R. Crisson called the meeting to order at 4:05 p.m. in Room 223 of the Student Union Building.

Present: Okan Akcay, Emmanuel Akillas, Deborah Barlieb, Jorie Borden, Charles Clark, Roberta Crisson, Richard Crooker, Raymond Dalfonso, Joan Davis, Miles DeCoster, Margaret Devlin, Lisa Ladd-Kidder for John Erdmann, Michael Gabriel, Carol Gearhart, Jill Givler, Carl Brunner for Linda Goldberg, Bruce Gottschall, Russell Gross, James Hall, Roger Hibbs, Ted Hickman, Joan Holleran, Deryl Johnson, Diane Johnson, Bob Watrous for Kimberly Keenan-Kirkpatrick, Kevin Kjos, Carol Mapes, Kevin McCloskey, Morris Perinchief, Stacie Porosky, Suzanne Prestoy, Randy Schaeffer, Andrew Skitko, James Sowerwine, John McAndrew for Theresa Stahler, Mary Theis, William Towne, Raymond Tumbleson, John Vafeas, Madan Varma.

Absent: Michael Demetor, Paula Holoviak, John Kopko, Joseph Lippincott, Sara McKinsey, Lisa Norris, Gail Rothermel, Jean Mae Smith, Peg Speirs, Heather Thomas, Girma Zelleke.

Also in Attendance: Paul Ache, John Schellenberg.

I. Announcements

M. Perinchief expressed gratitude to R. Crisson and C. Mapes for their service to the University Senate. M. Perinchief read a letter of appreciation to R. Crisson from President McFarland.

C. Brunner also extended a word of thanks from the Provost to R. Crisson and C. Mapes.

II. Approval of the Agenda

L. Ladd-Kidder moved, R. Gross seconded, to amend the Agenda by moving Approval of Candidates for May 2001 Graduation to immediately following Approval of the Minutes. The motion passed.

The Agenda was approved as amended.

III. Approval of the Minutes of April 5, 2001

M. DeCoster moved, J. Davis seconded, to approve the Minutes of April 5, 2001. The motion passed.

IV. New Business

A. Approval of Candidates for May 2001 Graduation

M. Theis moved, J.Davis seconded, to approve the list of candidates for May 2001 graduation, pending completion of all degree requirements. The motion passed.

- V. Committee and Task Force Reports
 - A. Committee on Committees Approval of Committee Appointments

M. Perinchief moved, T. Hickman seconded, to approve the list of committee appointments. The motion passed.

R. Crisson thanked the Committee on Committees for its work in making committee appointments

- B. Strategic Planning and Resources Committee
 - 1. Prioritization

M. DeCoster referred to the Report to the Senate relative to the prioritization process.

R. Schaeffer moved, M. DeCoster seconded, to forward the report on prioritization to the Chancellor's Office. The motion failed.

2. Program Review

L. Ladd-Kidder moved, M. Devlin seconded, to approve the proposed Academic Program Review Process.

L. Ladd-Kidder moved, M. Perinchief seconded, to change the title of Appendix C to Sample Indicators of Outcomes Assessment for Academic Programs. The motion passed.

It was suggested to add the formula used to calculate the FTE Student/Faculty Ratio to the Glossary under *FTE Student/Faculty Ratio*.

It was moved by D. Johnson and seconded by M. Devlin to table discussion of the proposed Academic Program Review Process. The motion passed.

C. Honorary Degree Committee

P. Ache, chairperson of the Honorary Degree Committee, reported that Dr. Marilyn Nelson has been recommended to receive an honorary degree in the Fall 2001 Semester.

VI. Other Announcements

R. Crisson announced that Beth Herbine and Carol Mapes have been elected as at-large representatives to the Senate for three year terms and that Joan Davis has been elected as an at-large representative for a two year term.

R. Crisson thanked everyone for their support over the past years in her duties as Senate President and wished R. Schaeffer the best of luck as the new Senate President.

R. Crisson read a letter from President McFarland relative to his decision to retire in June 2002.

VII. Adjournment

M. DeCoster moved, L. Ladd-Kidder seconded, to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:15 p.m.

Solicitar risson Roberta L. Crisson, President

Mapes

Carol C. Mapes, Secretary

djt