# Kutztown University Research Commons at Kutztown University

Senate Minutes

Kutztown University Senate

Spring 5-2-2002

## Senate Minutes 5-2-02

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

### Kutztown University Kutztown, Pennsylvania

#### MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE May 2, 2002

R. Schaeffer called the meeting to order at 4:05 p.m. in the Blue Room.

Present: Okan Akcay, Marilyn Baguinon, William Bateman, Jorie Borden, Gary Brey, George Paterno for Carl Brunner, Joan Davis, Miles DeCoster, Pascale Dewey, Michael Gabriel, Bruce Gottschall, Russell Gross, James Hall, Ted Hickman, Gerard Innocenti, Deryl Johnson, Tim Oboyle for Diane Johnson, Kevin Kjos, Lisa Ladd-Kidder, Joseph Lippincott, Carol Mapes, Morris Perinchief, Suzanne Prestoy, Patricia Richter, Gail Rothermel, Randy Schaeffer, Andrew Skitko, Judith Smith, James Sowerwine, Peg Speirs, Theresa Stahler, Raymond Tumbleson.

Absent: Emmanuel Akillas, Deborah Barlieb, Amanda Carr, Dan Cates, Meghan Chapman, Richard Crooker, Dennis Dietrich, Beth Herbine, Roger Hibbs, Kimberly Keenan-Kirkpatrick, Stacie Porosky, Jean Mae Smith, Heather Thomas, William Towne, John Vafeas, Madan Varma, Dave Wagaman, Bob Watrous, Girma Zelleke.

Also in Attendance: Paul Ache.

I. Announcements

II. Approval of the Agenda

L. Ladd-Kidder moved, T. Hickman seconded, to amend the Agenda by moving Approval of Candidates for May 2002 Graduation to immediately following Approval of the Minutes. The motion passed.

M. DeCoster moved, M. Perinchief seconded, to amend the Agenda by adding Approval of Resolution for President McFarland to immediately following Approval of the Candidates for Graduation. The motion passed.

The Agenda was approved as amended.

III. Approval of the Minutes of April 4, 2002

J. Lippincott moved, M. Perinchief seconded, to approve the Minutes of April 4, 2002. The motion passed.

IV. Approval of Candidates for May 2002 Graduation

R. Tumbleson moved, L. Ladd-Kidder seconded, to approve the list of candidates for May 2002 graduation, pending completion of all degree requirements. The motion passed. V. Resolution for President McFarland

M. DeCoster moved, T. Hickman seconded, to approve the Resolution for President McFarland. The motion passed.

M. DeCoster moved, L. Ladd-Kidder seconded, to suspend the Agenda in order to recognize Dr. McFarland. The motion passed.

R. Schaeffer presented President McFarland with a gift of appreciation and the following Resolution on behalf of the University Senate:

Whereas, Dr. David E. McFarland has been president of Kutztown University of President for these past 14 years; and

Whereas, Dr. McFarland will retire on June 30, 2002; and

Whereas, Dr. McFarland has served Kutztown University faithfully, earnestly, and with distinction throughout his tenure as president; and

Whereas, Dr. McFarland has been a friend of the University Senate, answering its requests for information, making himself available for consultation, appearing at meetings when requested, and supporting its positions;

Now, Therefore, Be It Resolved, that Dr. David E. McFarland receive the University Senate's sincere congratulations and best wishes for a long, productive, and happy retirement; and

**Be It Further Resolved**, that Dr. McFarland receive the gift of a work of art by a KU alumnus as a token of the University Senate's esteem and appreciation for his steadfast devotion to Kutztown University.

Resolved, this Second Day of May in the year Two Thousand Two.

#### VI. Committee and Task Force Reports

A. Academic Standards and Policy Committee

R. Schaeffer referred to the handouts pertaining to how course selection affects financial aid eligibility. L. Ladd-Kidder indicated that additional copies can be obtained from the Financial Aid Office.

B. Committee on Committees - Approval of Committee Appointments

M. Perinchief moved, G. Rothermel seconded, to approve the list of committee appointments. The motion passed.

C. Enrollment Management Committee

P. Richter presented a report on behalf of the Enrollment Management Committee

relative to the work done by the committee this year.

D. Honorary Degree Committee

> P. Ache, chairperson of the Honorary Degree Committee, reported that Michael O'Pake will receive an honorary degree at May's commencement.

E. Strategic Planning and Resources Committee

> M. DeCoster reported that the committee is continuing discussion on budget issues.

VII. Presidential Search Update

> M. DeCoster moved, L. Ladd-Kidder seconded, to suspend the Agenda in order to discuss the presidential search. The motion passed.

> G. Brey reported that the Council of Trustees has approved to recommend Javier Cevallos, Howard Johnson, and Carol Matteson as the three finalists for the KU president position. The three names will now be forwarded to the Chancellor's Office.

- VIII. New Business
  - A. **Developmental Mathematics Policy Amendment**

G. Innocenti moved, J. Sowerwine seconded, to approve the following policy relative to Developmental Mathematics:

Satisfaction of the Developmental Math requirement is a prerequisite for all MAT prefix courses

The motion passed with G. Paterno (voting on behalf of C. Brunner) opposing.

#### IX. Adjournment

R. Schaeffer thanked the members of the University Senate and the Senate Executive Committee for all its help during his first year as Senate President.

W. Bateman moved, M. DeCoster seconded, to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:50 p.m.

Randy S. Schaeffer, Preside

djt