Kutztown University

Research Commons at Kutztown University

Senate Minutes

Kutztown University Senate

Spring 3-1-2003

Senate Minutes 5-1-03

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

Kutztown University Kutztown, Pennsylvania

MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE May 1, 2003

R. Schaeffer called the meeting to order in Room 223 of the Student Union Building.

Present: Marilyn Baguinon, William Bateman, Jorie Borden, Emily Button, Dan Cates, Janice Chernekoff, Joan Davis, Miles DeCoster, Margaret Devlin, Pascale Dewey, Dennis Dietrich, Michael Gambone, Bruce Gottschall, James Hall, Beth Herbine, Deryl Johnson, Diane Johnson, Patricia Kelleher, Lisa Ladd-Kidder, Joseph Lippincott, Carol Mapes, Morris Perinchief, Suzanne Prestoy, Dennis Rains, Patricia Richter, Charles Roth, Gail Rothermel, Paul Sable, Randy Schaeffer, Neil Shea, Andrew Skitko, Judith Smith, Peg Speirs, Marie Squerciati, Theresa Stahler, Nancy Butler for William Towne, Raymond Tumbleson, John Vafeas, Edward Vicic, Robert Watrous, Dana Wilcox.

Absent: Deborah Barlieb, Gary Brey, Richard Crooker, Linda Goldberg, Roger Hibbs, Brad Johnson, Kevin Kjos, Clark Yeager, Girma Zelleke.

Also in Attendance: Edward Simpson, Carole Wells.

I. Announcements

D. Wilcox reported on the Council Campus of Presidents meeting held on April 30 and referred to the list of student concerns and issues relative to KU.

De. Johnson announced that the Diversity Festival will be held the last three days of September and that information relative to the festival will be forwarded to faculty members prior to the end of this semester.

- R. Schaeffer reported that the Middle States Interim Report is finished. The report is available in the library and can also be accessed on-line.
- M. Perinchief and the members of the University Senate expressed gratitude to R. Schaeffer and P. Speirs for their service to the Senate. Tokens of appreciation were presented to them and M. Perinchief read a letter of appreciation from President Cevallos to R. Schaeffer.

II. Approval of the Agenda

R. Watrous moved, M. Perinchief seconded, to approve the agenda. The motion passed.

III. Approval of the Minutes of April 3, 2003

B. Gottschall moved, B. Herbine seconded, to approve the Minutes of April 3, 2003. The motion passed.

VI. New Business

A. Approval of Candidates for May 2003 Graduation

De. Johnson moved, R. Tumbleson seconded, to approve the list of candidates for May 2003 graduation, pending completion of all degree requirements. The motion passed.

B. Course Repeat Proposal

P. Dewey moved, M. Perinchief seconded, to approve the following policy relative to repeating courses:

A student may repeat any course. When a student repeats a course, the number of credits are to be counted only once in determining the GPA and in determining the number of credits for graduation.

After considerable discussion, W. Bateman moved, De. Johnson seconded, to substitute the original motion with the following:

A student may repeat any course. When a student repeats a course, the credits for the course are to be counted only once in determining the grade point average (GPA) and the total credits needed for graduation, the credits attempted are to be counted only once in determining the GPA, and the higher (or highest) grade in the course will be used to calculate the GPA.

De. Johnson moved, P. Dewey seconded, to table discussion of the proposal until the October Senate meeting in order for representatives to take information back to their constituencies. The motion failed.

W. Bateman moved, C. Roth seconded, to have a roll call vote relative to the motion. The motion passed.

The result of the roll call vote was as follows:

Name	Constituency	<u>Vote</u>
Brad Johnson	Accounting/Finance	Absent
Lisa Ladd-Kidder	Advisement	Yes
Diane Johnson	Anthropology/Sociology	Yes
Raymond Tumbleson	APSCUF	No
Peg Speirs	Art Education & Crafts	Yes
Janice Chernekoff	At Large	Yes
Joan Davis	At Large	Yes
Beth Herbine	At Large	Yes
Carol Mapes	At Large	No
Michael Gambone	At Large	No
William Towne	At Large	No (proxy vote)
Clark Yeager	Athletics Faculty	Absent

VIII. Adjournment

M. DeCoster moved, J. Hall seconded, to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:50 p.m.

Randy S. Schaeffer, President

Peg Speirs Secretary

djt