Kutztown University Research Commons at Kutztown University

Senate Minutes

Kutztown University Senate

Spring 3-12-2009

Senate Minutes 3-12-09

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

KUTZTOWN UNIVERSITY Minutes of the University Senate

Room 223, McFarland Student Union Building Thursday, March 12, 2009

M. Sanelli called the meeting to order at 4:04 p.m.

Present: Andrew Arnold, Len Barish, Bobbie Berry, Javier Cevallos, Kate Clair, James Delle, Samantha Dennis, William Donner, Lorri Engstrom, Todd Folk, Mitch Freed, James Hall, Helen Hamlet for Jo Cohen Hamilton, Gregory Hanson, Kathleen Hartman, Loriann Irving, Inmi Lee, Josh Leiboff for Camille DeMarco, Mark Mahosky, Susan Mangold, Elaine Mara, John McAndrew, James McNiff, George Muugi, Ilene Prokup, Paul Quinn, Charles Roth, Trucilla Sabatino, Paul Sable, Christopher Sacchi, Rennie Sacco, Maria Sanelli (President), Norman Sigmond, Joo Tan, Heather Thomas, Carlos Vargas-Aburto, Anke Walz (Secretary), Carole Wells, and Barth Yeboah.

Absent: Ed Christian, Dennis Dietrich, Economics Representative, Diane Fegely, Sudarshan Fernando, Ted Hickman, Will Jefferson, Joe Lippincott, Keith Logan, Management Representative, Robert Martin, Sylvia Pham, Professional Staff Representative, John Riley, and Steven Schnell,

Also in Attendance: Michelle Hughes and Carol Sztaba.

I. Announcements

Prior to the announcements, M. Sanelli reminded the senators of the following procedural rule: During the Senate announcements, no debate can take place. Senators can, at this point, ask questions for clarification. If senators wish to discuss an item brought to them during announcements, they should speak to that during the approval of the agenda. At that time, the topic can (with the proper motion and vote) be placed under "New Business."

The following announcements were made:

President Cevallos:

Kutztown University's campaign "Paint the Town Gold" is the 2009 winner of the "Division II Schools Community Engagement Award of Excellence."

The KU Jazz Ensemble was the only college jazz group chosen to perform at the Music Educator's National Conference Eastern Division Convention in Hartford, CT. The ensemble is releasing a CD through Sea Breeze Records, a nationally known record label company.

After finishing second in the PSAC Playoffs the KU Men's Basketball Team is traveling to Erie (PA) for the NCAA Division II Tournament. This is the team's first appearance in the NCAA Tournament since 1988.

Further, President Cevallos welcomed Josh Leiboff who was hired as the new Web Content Manager at the end of February 2009.

Provost Vargas-Aburto:

The Third Annual Assessment Symposium will be held on Saturday, March 21, 2009.

Peg Spiers is chairing the search committee for the position of Director of Assessment. So far, five applications have been received.

The Academic Affairs Department is currently implementing several new policies and procedures. They will be incorporated into the course catalog and the master schedule for Fall 2009.

On March 14, 2009, the Academic Affairs Department created the Department of Learning Technologies, comprised of faculty members Ted Hickman and Will Jefferson. The department reports to James Hubbard (Assistant Provost of Strategic Initiatives).

E. Mara (Student Government Board Representative):

The Rohrbach Library will host a training session titled "Techniques for Assisting Persons with Vision Impairments" on Tuesday, March 24, 3:00 - 4:30 p.m., in room RL 22.

Senate President M. Sanelli:

The President's Commission on Human Diversity is presenting a workshop titled "How does diversity shape dialogue: In higher education, in the classroom, in the individual?" to take place on March 25, 2009, 11 a.m. and 2:00 p.m. in SUB 223. The invited speaker is Dr. Richard Schmertzing (Professor at Vadlosta State University) who will conclude the day with a lecture at 7 p.m. in SUB 223.

The open forum on "Teaching in a Large Classroom" will be held on Thursday, March 26, 11 a.m., in SUB 218. Senators suggested that the event should take place in the Academic Forum where most of the large classes take place. Provost Vargas-Aburto will try to accommodate this request.

S. Dennis (Student Government Board Representative):

Due to the restructuring of the Student Government Board, students will from now on be represented by their academic colleges. Faculty is asked to help disseminating this information to the student body.

II. Approval of the Agenda

L. Barish moved, E. Mara seconded, to approve the agenda. Motion passed unanimously.

III. Approval of the Minutes

I. Prokup moved, E. Mara seconded, to approve the minutes from February 5, 2009. The motion passed with one abstention.

IV. President, Committee and Task Force Reports

A. Senate President's Report

J. Hamilton who was elected to the Senate as an at-large representative is now the senate representative for the Counseling & Human Services Department. Following the Senate Constitution, Paul Quinn is replacing J. Hamilton as an at-large representative until the end of her term in August 2009.

The members of the Council of Trustees have decided to increase their contact with faculty and staff. While their official meetings on campus generally start at 4 p.m., they will be arriving as early as 12 p.m. to meet with faculty and staff and solicit their input.

The "Release Time Process" will be reviewed by the Provost Office in cooperation with all faculty members with release time.

B. Committee on Committees Report

A. Arnold reported for T. Hickman. The Committee on Committees is asking for approval of the following committee appointments:

Elizabeth Rogol, replacing John Walker on the Library Committee as the College of Business Representative.

Sue Kong, replacing Donna Steslow on the Commission on the Status of Minorities as the College of Business Representative.

Approval was granted unanimously.

The committee introduced the following motion:

That the Committee on Committees changes its name to "Shared Governance Committee."

M. Sanelli, seconded by T. Folk, moved to *table the motion*, arguing that the proposed name could cause some confusion because of the already existing Shared Governance Task Force. The task force is expected to fulfill its charge by the end of the semester at which point this objection will render itself moot.

The motion to table the Main Motion passed with one "Nay" vote (Andy Arnold).

V. Old Business

None at this time.

VI. New Business

A. Posthumous Degree

N. Sigmond (Associate Professor from Accounting & Finance) spoke about Daniel Kline, a senior who died in December 2008. N. Sigmond moved, seconded by E. Mara:

That Kutztown University awards a posthumous degree to Daniel Kline.

The motion passed unanimously.

B. Watrous (Dean for Student Services) spoke about Lee Southard, a non-traditional student majoring in Electronic Media who recently died. L. Barish moved, seconded by A. Walz:

That Kutztown University awards a posthumous degree to Lee Southard.

The motion passed unanimously.

B. Athletics and Academics

Carol Sztaba (University Architect) delivered a PowerPoint presentation on the Master Plan for the athletic facilities on KU's campus. If anyone has any questions or concerns, pleases contact her directly.

VII. Adjournment

Prior to adjournment, M. Sanelli reminded the senators to let her know of any topics they would like to discuss at the next Senate meeting.

M. Sanelli further announced that the Willingness-to-Serve forms will be available through Profs Online from Monday, March 16, through Friday, March 27, 2009.

P. Sable moved to adjourn the meeting, seconded by E. Mara. The motion passed unanimously; the meeting was adjourned at 5:15 p.m.

Signed:

Dr. Maria Sanelli, President

Dr. Anke Walz, Secretary