# Kutztown University Research Commons at Kutztown University

Senate Minutes

Kutztown University Senate

Spring 2-7-2002

## Senate Minutes 2-7-02

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

Kutztown University Kutztown, Pennsylvania

#### MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE February 7, 2002

R. Schaeffer called the meeting to order at 4:03p.m. in Room 223 of the Student Union Building.

Present: Okan Akcay, Emmanuel Akillas, Marilyn Baguinon, Deborah Barlieb, William Bateman, Jorie Borden, Gary Brey, Meghan Chapman, Richard Crooker, Joan Davis, Miles DeCoster, Pascale Dewey, Dennis Dietrich, Michael Gabriel, Linda Goldberg, Bruce Gottschall, Russell Gross, James Hall, Beth Herbine, Ted Hickman, Gerard Innocenti, Deryl Johnson, Diane Johnson, Kevin Kjos, Lisa Ladd-Kidder, Joseph Lippincott, Carol Mapes, Morris Perinchief, Suzanne Prestoy, Patricia Richter, Gail Rothermel, Randy Schaeffer, Jill Givler for Judith Smith, James Sowerwine, Peg Speirs, Theresa Stahler, Heather Thomas, William Towne, John Vafeas, Madan Varma, Bob Watrous.

Absent: Amanda Carr, Dan Cates, Roger Hibbs, Kimberly Keenan-Kirkpatrick, Stacie Porosky, Andrew Skitko, Jean Mae Smith, Raymond Tumbleson, Girma Zelleke.

Also in Attendance: Peggy Devlin, David Haas, Stacey Klusaritz, David E. McFarland, George Paterno.

#### I. Announcements

Dr. McFarland announced that Linda Goldberg will temporarily join the Chancellor's Office as Interim Vice Chancellor for Administration, Planning and Budget for the State System of Higher Education. During this period, Carl Brunner will serve as Acting Provost. In addition, Elaine Reed will serve as Acting Dean of Humanities and Social Sciences and Ed Simpson will serve as Acting Dean of Sciences, Mathematics and Technology. Both will report to Walter Nott who will be serving as Interim Associate Dean.

### II. Approval of the Agenda

D. Johnson moved, M. Perinchief seconded, to approve the Agenda.

It was then moved by M. DeCoster and seconded by R. Gross to amend the Agenda by adding a report from the Academic Technology Committee under Committee and Task Force Reports. The motion passed.

The Agenda was approved as amended.

III. Approval of the Minutes of December 6, 2001

M. Perinchief moved, L. Ladd-Kidder seconded, to approve the Minutes of December 6, 2001. The motion passed.

- IV. Committee and Task Force Reports
  - A. Academic Technology Committee

D. Haas, chairperson of the Academic Technology Committee, reported that the committee is currently working on an Academic Technology Plan. A draft of the plan will be available in the near future for review by the university community.

B. Academic Standards and Policy Committee

J. Givler, chairperson of the Academic Standards and Policy Committee, reported that several proposals will be presented to the Senate in the near future.

J. Givler further reported on the data obtained since the "W" policy went into effect. G. Paterno gave further information relative to the data. Documentation pertaining to the data will be distributed to Senate members.

C. Committee on Committees

M. Perinchief reported on the status of the Events Scheduling Committee and indicated that a proposal relative to this committee will be presented to the Senate in the near future.

D. Strategic Planning and Resources Committee

M. DeCoster reported that the committee will have its first meeting in the near future and that he will have a report for the next Senate meeting.

- V. Old Business
  - A. Winter Break Session

Dr. McFarland reported on the status of moving Winter Break Session. He indicated that no action will be taken on this matter in the near future in light of the fact that in all probability there will be a common state-wide calendar within the next few years.

- VI. New Business
  - A. Presidential Search Committee

It was moved by T. Hickman and seconded by M. DeCoster to approve a resolution whereby the Senate recognizes and commends the members of the

Presidential Search Committee for the fine work done in a short amount of time in preparing a list of candidates for the new university president. The motion passed.

VII. Adjournment

It was moved by W. Bateman and seconded by M. DeCoster to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:45 p.m.

ab Randy S. Schaeffer, President

Peg Speirs, Secretary

djt