Kutztown University

Research Commons at Kutztown University

Senate Minutes

Kutztown University Senate

Spring 2-2-2006

Senate Minutes 2-2-06

Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Follow this and additional works at: https://research.library.kutztown.edu/senateminutes

KUTZTOWN UNIVERSITY

Minutes of the University Senate Thursday, February 2, 2006

W. Bateman called the meeting to order in 223 McFarland Student Union Building at 4:02 p.m.

Present: Marilyn Baguinon (Secretary), Len Barish, William Bateman (President), Eric Beaven, Kristin Bremer, Miles DeCoster, Michael Demetor, Mike Demetor, William Donner, Jill Givler for Judy Smith, Bruce Gottschall, Joe Gushen, James Hall, Kathy Hartman, Roger Hibbs, William Jefferson, Deryl Johnson, Lori Don Levan, Robert Martin, John McAndrew, Walter Nott, George Paterno, Morris Perinchief, Ilene Prokup, Dennis Rains, Karen Rauch, Louis Rodriquez, Robert Ryan, Paul Sable, Maria Sanelli, Loline Saras, Randy Schaeffer, Yong-sang Shim for Lisa Frye, Laura Springman, Pietro Toggia, Madan Varma, and Karen Williams.

Absent: Deborah Barlieb, Roberta Crisson, Joan Davis, Kevin Erdie, Ina Grapenthin, Ted Hickman, Marilyn Hudzina, James Hvidding, Tracy Keyes, Matthew McKernan, Lauri Mondschein, Linda Rinker, Gail Rothermel, and David Wagaman.

Also in Attendance: Corinne Bassell.

I. Announcements

- W. Bateman announced that only about 70 faculty members attended the December 2005 commencement. He pointed out that being a member of the University Senate carries with it the responsibility of attending commencement ceremonies. He asked all senators to plan on attending commencement each semester in the future.
- M. Sanelli, Chair of the Commission on Human Diversity, announced that there is going to be a Diversity Summit held here on campus on Wednesday, February 22, from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. The purpose of this event is to promote diversity at the university by discussing what has been done in the past and formulating a set of suggestions for the university president. Dr. William Howe, Education Consultant for Multicultural Education and Gender Equity at the Connecticut State Department of Education, will be on hand to facilitate the all-day session.
- D. Johnson announced that the GLBTQ Office would be holding an Open House to observe their One-Year Anniversary. Refreshments will be served from 1 to 4 p.m. in OM 3 on Friday, February 3. He said that everyone is welcome to join the celebration.
- W. Bateman announced that Walter Nott is a permanent replacement for D. Laubach as the Senate Representative from the English Department. The following substitutions for today's meeting were noted: L. Rodriquez for P. Derr from History; J. Givler for J. Smith from Human Kinetics; and Y. Shim for L. Frye from Computer Science.

II. Approval of the Agenda

E. Beaven moved, M. DeCoster seconded, to approve the Agenda. The motion passed.

III. Approval of the Minutes

B. Gottschall moved, R. Schaeffer seconded, to approve the Minutes of the December 1, 2005, meeting. The motion passed.

IV. Committee and Task Force Reports

A. Committee on Committees

- D. Johnson reported that more of the Governance Committees are electronically submitting their minutes to the Senate Office. The latest minutes are being put on the website and the archived minutes will also be added on the website in the near future.
- D. Johnson reported that within the next 2 weeks or so the Willingness-to-Serve booklets and forms will be put up on the Senate website with an electronic submission form to be sent directly back to Senate. Only permanent faculty can apply at this time during the First Call for volunteers. Deadline will be Monday, March 27.
- D. Johnson reported that the Committee on Committees would run internal elections for Governance Committees from now on. Hopefully, those elections would be completed by April 1.
- D. Johnson also noted that any faculty member appointed by Committee on Committees who goes on Sabbatical or Medical Leave would be replaced permanently for the remainder of the term of that appointment.

B. General Education Restructuring Team

R. Schaeffer spoke on behalf of D. Lynch, the chair of the Team, who was not present. He reminded those present that President Cevallos and the Team had met with faculty members back on December 1 in Schaeffer Auditorium. Since then, the Team has met only once. The Team feels that it has a very strong proposal but that some faculty might still have questions about the proposal. The next step might either be another large meeting or a white paper describing the proposal in more detail.

C. Budget Review Committee

W. Bateman reported that the Budget Review Committee has not yet met this semester. The BRC Committee is at the stage where goals are being set and rules established that decentralization in the future.

A site visit to West Chester University will take place this semester. The other site visit has been canceled since the new president there has placed decentralization plans on hold. Check the committee's website for more information.

V. Old Business

W. Bateman announced that there was no old business.

VI. New Business

A. Posthumous degree for Lawrence W. Eich IV

W. Bateman noted that Cal Benne, Systems Analyst in the Academic Affairs Division, had been recently killed in a multi-vehicle crash on Route 222. He announced that flyers were available for those interested in attending a gathering at his church to console the family on Friday, February 3 and the funeral service on Saturday, February 4.

W, Bateman asked for a motion to award a posthumous degree to Lawrence C. Eich IV, a junior Computer Science major, who was fatally injured in an automobile accident on December 30, 2005. E. Beaven moved, R. Schaeffer seconded, to award a posthumous degree. The motion passed.

B. Discussion about the Academic Forum

Although not on the agenda, M. Sanelli raised some issues associated with new large classroom building that is under construction. She said that the History Department was just notified last week that they are going to teach their lower courses in the new building. As a result, History is expected to lose at least 4 temporary faculty positions. She argued that all faculty members should be concerned about this situation. She asked whether the Senate could draft a resolution to the president about this matter.

W. Bateman suggested that an *ad hoc* committee be formed so concerned faculty members could meet and draft such a resolution for the consideration of the Senate. M. Sanelli agreed to chair the *ad hoc* committee and asked that those interested in serving on the committee contact her.

VII. Adjournment

M. DeCoster moved, M. Varma seconded, to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed and the meeting was adjourned at 4:47 p.m.

Signed:

William F. Bateman President

Marilyn C. Baguinon, Secretary

ljd